Tea Smoked Salmon with Cucumber Relish

Again, I can’t post the recipe since the recipe will be in a future cookbook but here is one that is on Jaden’s (ie Steamy Kitchen’s) non cookbook testing recipe blog site that has a similar method of cooking the salmon. It is fantastic. Please try this.

This was the final accomplishment of my superwoman night last night. I don’t know what got into me. . . The variation of the recipe I tested was a huge success. It did not involve tea-smoking, but someday I will buy a bamboo steamer (they’re so dang cheap) and make this recipe according to the first method of preparation. I think it would make my house smell so delicious. I couldn’t get over how tender and delicious the salmon was (it was cooked in a similar method as the salmon in the above link). One of my biggest qualms with ordering fish at a restaurant is that it is frequently over-cooked and disgusting. Yuck. Often the salmon (and other fish) that I make at home is far superior to what I order in restaurants, and I’m not saying that to toot my own horn. I promise. Usually I’m not willing to pay for fish at the prices of the restaurants that actually know how to prepare fish. My goal with fish is to someday prepare a whole one (which there is a recipe in this month’s Bon Appetit that I am so tempted to try). Until then, slow cooked salmon is the way I will go.

5 Comments

  1. Posted September 19, 2008 at 1:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I just found a bamboo steamer at Target the other day on clearance for $5 and snagged it up! I have yet to try it though…

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted September 19, 2008 at 1:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Make the tea smoked salmon! You should make it if you even kinda like salmon, it was so delicious!

  3. Posted September 19, 2008 at 2:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I might have to now…I had 2 others on my list for this week…so maybe at the start of next week?

  4. Posted September 19, 2008 at 2:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    yay for slow cooking! try mahi mahi or swordfish next! top with mango/red onion salsa

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted September 19, 2008 at 2:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    *Drool*.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

