Amy Butler Purse Projects

So I’ve taken up sewing because I would eventually like to make/alter my own clothes. I bought a Janome Harmony on craigslist (I ❤ craigslist a lot) for $140 (it was a $400 machine in stores!!). Since I’m kinda scared to start making clothes with hardly any sewing experience, I’ve taken to making purses. Amy Butler has been a big help because her patterns are super easy to read and understand. I’ve made three different patterns (one I don’t have a picture of yet) and thought I would share with the world my accomplishments!

The First Purse I ever attempted (now sported by Miss Madi!), made with the Amy Butler Frenchie Pattern and Amy Butler Fabric:
First Purse First Purse Inside

The Second Purse (now shown off by Kayle!), Frenchie Purse, again but the smaller version of it:
Second Purse

The Third Purse (yeah, I kept this one!), Amy Butler Pattern, Kimberly Bag, it was good to try to sew a zipper. . . I would say I was semi successful! 🙂
Third Purse Third Purse Inside

The Forth Purse (now worn by Sami), Frenchie Bag, again:
Forth Purse Forth Purse Inside

The Fifth Purse, which was one of my projects this weekend, the Kimberly Bag once more (Kristamus, this one’s yours! Happy late birthday!):
Fifth Purse Fifth Purse Inside

I like to give away things I make. . . can you tell? 🙂 Again, this blog is a good way for me to keep track of pictures of things I have made that I no longer own!

2 Comments

  1. Posted May 29, 2008 at 3:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I said it on your Flickr pics…but you are getting so good! I love the new bags! Inspiration for me to actually sew something…and soon!

  2. Posted August 5, 2008 at 2:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    WOW…you’re doing great for a newbie! I’m so jealous. I’m starting off even simpler…my first project (which I’m still working on) is a pincushion. lol. Lovely bags 🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] almost nothing goes to waste! I used a cotton canvas fabric that I’ve used before in several different projects that is from Ikea (but I don’t think they have this print any longer). If I make […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

