Old Favorite T-Shirts Just Lying Around?

My church has adopted a street through Keep Austin Beautiful and they gave out shirts for their “Clean Sweep” during the month of April. I got an XXL and really wanted to wear it, so after a little research I found Oh My Stars t-shirt surgery instruction. I thought it was a great idea so I took the XXL and turned it into something cute. Below is the best picture I have of it:
Trash Pick Up

I think I could make some cute shirts out of my old college t-shirts I’m having a hard time parting with. . . oh the projects keep piling up! Yay for reuse and up-cycling! 🙂

Update: Couple extra projects thanks to Amanda showing me some blogs (thanks!)
T-shirt Pants
Another T-Shirt Surgery
T-Shirt Underwear
Various Tutorials

6 Comments

  1. Posted June 5, 2008 at 8:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    That’s a really good idea, I think I might try it! I have a ton of t-shirts from college, and like you, I just can’t get rid of them! I think your halter is super cute! Maybe that will go in my future project bin! I finally sewed up my bag – now I just need to do the lining!

  2. elizabethcarroll
    Posted June 5, 2008 at 8:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks! It was quite the fun task to complete.

  3. Posted June 5, 2008 at 9:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    I just read this other post about making new stuff from T-shirts…looks like it is going around! 🙂 I might have to give it a whirl!

  4. Posted June 6, 2008 at 9:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    ahh, Beth! watch out the the giant orange pliar things

  5. Posted June 8, 2008 at 1:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    your shirt turned out darling! we had lots of fun with our creations. the lounge pants turned out awesome (the bigger the shirt the better). we also turned adult shirts into fitted t-shirts for some little girls, we also made a couple of different versions of fitted t-shirts, but my favorite project – we made newborn gowns out of the t-shirts… very cute!

  6. Posted June 10, 2008 at 8:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    So this last weekend I made a valient attempt at taking one shirt that was too small and one that I didn’t like any more and tried to combine them into one…not so much a success. I was able to make the small shirt fit me, however I cut the sleeves off for the halter part and let’s just say it was no longer modest. I tried to fix it but by that point it was becoming quite a mess. And the midst of all this I realize that the logo on the shirt is completely off center and that just made it look all the worse – dumb, cheap, wal-mart shirts! I will have to try again another day.

One Trackback

  1. By comments and t-shirts « create on June 10, 2008 at 9:22 am

    […] unrelated. My friend Beth has also been inspiring me with her new blog. She recently wrote a post about taking old t-shirts and turning them into something that you’ll actually wear again. I […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

