So Long Junk Mail!

I hate junk mail.

I think it is such a waste of resources. Each year, 100 million trees are used to produce junk mail; 250,000 homes could be heated with one day’s supply of junk mail; and Americans receive almost 4 million tons of junk mail every year.

Are you tired of junk mail? Check this out: http://www.junkbusters.com/junkmail.html or http://www.privacyrights.org/fs/fs4-junk.htm. I used their suggested methods and now I am receiving significantly less junk mail. For a couple of months, about 90% of the mail we were receiving was junk. Now I would estimate about 10% of the mail we’re getting is junk. Quite the improvement! Catalogs are a bit of a different story – you have to call the number and ask to be removed. I never look at a catalogue since I am an online shopper, so I did this and now I don’t receive catalogues I don’t want!

Update: www.MyJunkTree.com

So, my challenge to you for today to live a greener life: unsubscribe/block junk mail today. Don’t wait any longer.

4 Comments

  1. Garetjax
    Posted June 21, 2008 at 1:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    There are just so many sources of Junk mail out there, catalogs, weekly mailers, credit card offers, phone books, and just miscellaneous junk mail. I had to find an easy way to Stop Junk Mail. I found teh easiest way was to get a membership with MyJunkTree.com. I simply clicked buttons to stop most of teh junk mail. Simple, easy, and effective.

  2. Posted June 22, 2008 at 1:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have use the site myjunktree.com also and found it very simple site to use to stop my junk mail. I would recommend the site to anyone. And they planted 5 tree with my membership.

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted June 22, 2008 at 2:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the recommendation guys!

  4. Tim
    Posted August 26, 2008 at 3:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I happen to be one of the owners of MyJunkTree and as a new company I search the web to see if we are getting any visibility out there and it seems the word is getting out. Thanks for the support.

    We launched the company because we were tired of all the junk mail we were receiving and we personally did not want to bounce all over the web to contact all the different companies to stop it all. First and foremost we wanted to let people choose what they wanted to let come to their home knowing that some people really do like some of the coupons and catalogs. So our clients choose what they want stopped.

    We also had to provide a service that is different than the other services out there, so here is what we offer:

    1. We have a database of over 1300 catalogs that you can choose to stop.
    2. We have over a 2000 charities/Non-Profits that you can stop solicitations from.
    3. Stop the delivery of the national phone directories.
    4. Stop the delivery of the weekly coupons.
    5. Stop the general credit card offers as well as the ones from your own major bank.
    6. Stop the miscellaneous junk mail from the data brokers.
    7. You can register on the National Do Not Call Registry from the website.
    8. You can order your no strings attached free annual credit report right from the website.
    9. We plant trees with every new membership.

    And, yes we are a paid service and yes you can do everything that we do for free, if you want to do all the research and spend the time contacting the companies yourself it can easily be done. We have just done all of the legwork for our clients and feel there is value in the service we provide.

One Trackback

  1. […] | Tags: Sustainability, sustainable, white pages, yellow pages |   So along the same lines as getting rid of unnecessary junk mail, there is a new company that is dedicated to Making sure the YellowPagesGoGreen. It’s free. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

