My First Handmade Dress!

I did it!

First Article of Clothing!

I made the Anda Dress from Burda Style out of some sheets on Friday. Ok, ok, it may look a bit like a glorified hospital gown, there were some severe alterations to even get it as fitted as it is now. . . When they say the pattern runs big, they weren’t lying! But I am excited that I actually made something that I could wear out in public and not be totally embarrassed by. I also finished up another clothing sewing project (what can I say, it was a productive weekend), but more on that later. . .

Update: I forgot to give credit to the Angry Chicken Bias Tape Tutorial for helping me through my first use of bias tape. Thank you!

On another note, be careful to not strain your eyes when you are sewing. Sew in good light. As I found out Sunday morning, you can get eye hemorrhaging (which looks so gross that I will spare you the pictures) from eye strain. Yuck! We’ll see what the eye doctor says today.

13 Comments

  1. Posted June 16, 2008 at 8:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the dress!! I actually want to make one and I love the color you chose. Did you buy the sheets or did you already have them laying around?

    I noticed that your one eye looked kind of bloodshot on Saturday at the wedding…that stinks! Hope the Dr. has some good news!

  2. elliek
    Posted June 16, 2008 at 9:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! I think it looks great! Very comfy and summery!

  3. Posted June 16, 2008 at 10:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    So freaking cool. My wife rocks my face off!

    To answer Amanda’s question, we already had the sheets and they’ve never been used so it was pretty convenient. I’m also shocked that you noticed her eye on Saturday night. She didn’t notice until Sunday morning…and neither had I.

  4. elizabethcarroll
    Posted June 16, 2008 at 10:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, I’m impressed that you noticed my eye too – I didn’t notice it when I was putting on mascara Saturday night, I noticed it Sunday morning. Went to the eye doc, it’s just subconjunctive hemorrhaging and it’s not a big deal. Just take like 4 weeks to go away. So I’ll have a bloody eye for a long time it seems. Bummer.

    We had the sheets laying around, never used. They didn’t quite match the colors in our bedroom, so I figured, hey, I liked the color. Let’s make a dress! 🙂

  5. Posted June 16, 2008 at 12:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think I notice things sometimes that other “taller” people don’t because I am looking at things from a different perspective — from lower to the ground. ha ha! Is the redness on your left eye kind of above your iris (I hope that is the right word)? I think because I am looking up, I could see under your eyelashes better than if I was taller and was looking down through your lashes?? I don’t know…suffice it to say…I noticed. LOL Glad it isn’t anything serious!

    BTW — I need to go to Goodwill and find me some cool retro sheets!

  6. elliek
    Posted June 16, 2008 at 12:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I actually noticed your eye too, but I figured you knew so I didn’t want to say anything!

  7. elizabethcarroll
    Posted June 16, 2008 at 12:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well dang. I’m just completely unobservant of my own self!

  8. elizabethcarroll
    Posted June 16, 2008 at 12:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    P.S. Ikea has some great sheets that could be turned into clothing pretty easily. I’m always up for an Ikea or Goodwill trip to find cheap fabrics!

  9. Posted June 16, 2008 at 5:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I never noticed either, but I was always next to her Saturday night, never in front of her where I could have seen. …I guess 🙂

  10. purewhitelily
    Posted June 16, 2008 at 7:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Beth! You are so creative! That dress looks adorable on you. 🙂

  11. Posted June 17, 2008 at 8:30 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love Burdastyle! I have only sewn a couple of their patterns but this Anda dress is one that I want to put together for an easy summer dress. Good job on this dress!

  12. thirty2flavors
    Posted July 14, 2008 at 7:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great eye for color! The dress is cute. Congratulations on finishing a project (its more than I can say for my own adventures in sewing…)

  13. angerella
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 11:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    Welcome to the addiction (to sewing)!! It is always good to have a first project turn out wearable and this one looks great.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

