Sushi Bowl

So my picture is not near as beautiful as Heidi Swanson’s picture at 101cookbooks.com but her recipe was so good, healthy, vegetarian, that I had to pass the recipe on, my poor picture included!

Just a quick note about eating vegetarian – it is a very good idea to try and eat a couple meatless meals a week because not only is it healthy for your body, it’s good for the environment: “The amount of red meat and dairy you consume has a far greater impact on greenhouse gases than the distance your food traveled. That’s because the production of red meat and dairy generates much more greenhouse gases than the production of any other kind of food, and much more greenhouse gases than all food-related transportation. Not to mention that cows’ burps and the storage of manure in open “lagoons” both release large amounts of methane, another greenhouse gas that traps about 20 times more solar radiation molecule per molecule than carbon dioxide does. ” Just food for thought. 🙂

Sushi Bowl Recipe

Sushi Bowl

2 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted June 26, 2008 at 7:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    Interesting…all the ingredients sound good, but it’s so much fun to roll them up and eat them!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted June 26, 2008 at 8:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    Agreed, but it’s so much quicker to toss them all in a bowl! 🙂

3 Trackbacks

  1. By Best recipes from around the web » Sushi Bowl on June 25, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    […] Elizabeth wrote a fantastic post today on “Sushi Bowl”Here’s ONLY a quick extractSo my picture is not near as beautiful as Heidi Swanson’s picture at 101cookbooks.com but her recipe was so good, healthy, vegetarian, that I had to pass the recipe on, my poor picture included! Just a quick note about eating vegetarian … […]

  2. […] September 17, 2008 Crispy Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce Posted by Elizabeth under Recipes, Vegetarian | Tags: asian, recipe, Recipes, tofu |   So this was another recipe that I tried out for Steamy Kitchen (and she still could use more testers, if you’re interested) and I really enjoyed it! I think I’ve talked about how we try to eat vegetarian a couple nights a week. Not only is it good for the environment, it’s good for our wallets too! Often times those meals end up as a pasta of some sort, but this time I tried tofu. I have to say that I didn’t completely think through the ‘meal’ part of this meal, so we only ate tofu! When I make this again I’ll probably make some fried rice or something to toss this with. I will say that this recipe reinforces that I like my tofu crispy, something I first found out when I tried 101cookbooks Sushi Bowl. […]

  3. By Szechuan-Style Tofu with Peanuts « think liz. on March 31, 2010 at 8:01 am

    […] of meat that we consume, I find myself cooking a lot of pasta. And then occasionally I’m reminded that tofu exists and can help reduce our pasta intake while still decreasing our meat […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

