South Indian Pepper Chicken

So I have to brag on my hubby for a minute. He told me he had made plans for Saturday night and he had. He made plans to cook me dinner! This is from a man that has only cooked about two meals in his lifetime. He made a Lemon Herb Tilapia with Wilted Spinach and a Pesto Crustini (although he probably didn’t know it was a Crustini). Thanks babe! It’s fun to have a night off from cooking and to still have a delicious meal that we didn’t have to pay restaurant prices for! I’ll try to post the recipe and the picture later on.

So anyways, on to the original topic of this post: Thanks Ellie for recommending this recipe for me to try! I’ve only cooked a couple of curries before and this was super easy. We ate it Thursday night and it was delicious (although I was too lazy to cut the chicken tenders in to bite-sized pieces so I just stir fried them whole). I didn’t have time to make the Chapati but I’ll try it again some other time. I served it over basmati rice.

South Indian Pepper Chicken
from Fresh Indian by Sunil Vijayakar

Spiced with peppercorns rather than chilies, this creamy curry will be popular with the whole family. Fresh ginger and garlic give it a warning, spicy aroma. Serve with a refreshing salad to complement the creamy sauce.

Ingredients:
1 T. sunflower oil
1 bay leaf
4 cloves
1/2 t. crushed cardamom seeds (I used 1/4 t. nutmeg and 1/4 t. cinnamon because I didn’t have cardamon like I thought I did!)
2 t. crushed black peppercorns
1 t. finely grated fresh ginger root
2 t. finely grated garlic
1 1/4 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces
1/2 c. water or chicken stock
1/2 t. turmeric
1 1/2 c low-fat plain yogurt (I used 0% Fage Greek Yogurt)
salt

Method:
Heat the oil in a large nonstick frying pan and when hot add the bay leaf, cloves, crushed cardamom seeds, and peppercorns. Stir-fry for 30 seconds, then add the ginger, garlic, and the chicken. Stir-fry over a medium heat for 4-5 minutes before adding the water or stock and the turmeric. Season.

Bring to a boil, cover, reduce the heat, and simmer gently for 10 to 12 minutes or until the chicken is tender and cooked through. Remove from heat, drizzle with the yogurt so that it is partially stirred in and serve.

Serves 4

Nutrient analysis per serving
266 cal – 1119 kJ – 40 g protein – 7 g protein – 7 g carbohydrates 7 g sugars – 9 g fat – 2 g saturated fat – 0 g fiber – 190 mg sodium

Healthy Tip:
Adding low-fat yogurt gives this dish a rich creaminess, with none of the fat that comes with cream, ground almonds, or coconut – which are all popular ingredients in many Indian curries.

South Indian CHicken

4 Comments

  1. Posted June 30, 2008 at 8:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    Have to say that I’m not a big fan on Indian cuise, but that looks rather tasty. Will have to try it. Thanks for the post. http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com.

  2. elliek
    Posted June 30, 2008 at 8:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    Way to go Jason! And I’m so glad you liked this recipe!

  3. Posted July 9, 2008 at 3:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    MMMM. That looks tasty. I’ll have to try it!

  4. Posted July 17, 2008 at 7:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    It definitely looks tasty.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

