Eat, Pray, Love

So I took advantage of the long weekend and in between breaks of busy-ness, I would read. So, at my aunt’s recommendation, I finished up Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia. Although Liz’s search for spirituality didn’t correspond much with my own, I enjoyed the book thoroughly. I understand why this book is so popular with the culture today: Liz took bits and pieces from religious practices she agreed with all the while removing practices she disliked and mushed them together to create her own customized religion. Now, while I don’t agree with this approach to faith, the story was humorous and insightful.

What this book had me consider the most was the benefit of meditation. In our lives of constant busy-ness we don’t take breaks to sit and clear our heads. We’re on to the next project, the next task at hand, the next . . . bigger and better thing.  I would like to explore what meditation means to me, as a Christian. It is mentioned in the Bible  several times – Psalms 19:14 says, “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer” and Psalm 104:34 says, “May my meditation be pleasing to him, as I rejoice in the LORD.” This makes me wonder what type of meditation David was doing. I really would like to meditate and take time to pause and be thankful. Wanting and actually doing though . . . the busy-ness always sucks me back in.

But anyways, I enjoyed the book and would recommend it to those who would enjoying reading about the vastness in the spiritual journey of one woman.

4 Comments

  1. sarah
    Posted July 8, 2008 at 6:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I finished that book about a month ago. I loved it. It really got me thinking about meditation as well. Taking time to do something like this is something I have been trying to work into my life, but like you said, it is hard!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted July 9, 2008 at 8:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    I struggle with it on a regular basis. A couple months ago, I really felt that I was being banged over the head by God with the idea of taking a day to rest, no TV, no chores, no driving. . . etc. And for about a month, Jason and I tried to take a day of rest and it was amazing the difference that it made in my attitude and spirit. Then came the summer and the summer weekends are always so busy for us. So the day of rest went out the window!

  3. Posted August 7, 2008 at 5:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh i LOVED this book. some parts were a little long, but overall it really spoke to me. i love that you have all these book reviews on here! i am going to bring some of your suggestions to my book group! we are meeting on sunday! 🙂

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted August 7, 2008 at 7:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yay great! I’m glad someone is enjoying my book reviews. I kinda do them just so I can keep track of what I’ve been reading. We also have a bunch of suggestions for our next book club books here: http://austinbookclubforwomen.wordpress.com/new-book-options/ That may be another good place to gather some good ideas on books!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

