Fish Tacos

So I have been looking for a good fish tacos recipe for a long time. Last Wednesday, Ellie and I went to a Whole Foods Lunch Express cooking class and the topic of the day? Fish tacos. At the class they were delicious, just the right amount of spice, yummy. I made them last night and I must say, they weren’t quite the same. The pickled onions and jalepenos were so much spicier and I was a bit overwhelmed! They still were tasty but I think I will tweak the recipe a bit the next time I try it (if I do try it again). But I will share it because I think it’s a great jumping off point if you’re thinking about making fish tacos.

Fish Tacos with Avocado Aioli
Recipe Courtesy of Whole Foods Lunch Express 7/2/08

2 fish fillets suitable for grilling (such as mahi mahi, snapper, tuna or tilapia; I used tilapia)
Vegetable oil
Spice rub (recipe follows)
12 (6 in) corn tortillas
Avocado Aioli (recipe follows)
Thinly sliced cabbage
Queso fresca, cotija, or feta cheese
Lime Wedges, for garnish
Pickled Onions and Jalapenos

Preheat grill. While grill heats, brush fish on all sides with oil and then evenly coat with spice mixture. Oil grill rack, then grill fish, covered, turning once, until opaque and just cooked through, about 6 minutes total or until just pink in the center (for tuna), about 4 minutes. Break up into chunks and serve with the tortillas, Avocado Aioli, cabbage, feta and the pickled red onions and jalapenos.

Cook’s note: If you aren’t able to grill outdoors, cook fish in a lightly oiled large (2 burner) ridged grill pan or under the broiler.

Spice Rub
1 tsp chipotle powder
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground oregano
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp ground cumin
½ tsp garlic powered
1 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp cracked black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a spice grinder and process until well mixed.

Avocado Aioli
½ c mayonnaise (or 0% Fat Free Greek Yogurt, Fage)
½ c sour cream
1-2 tbsp fresh lime juice
1 tsp lime zest
1 ripe avocado, cut into large dice
Pinch of salt

Combine all ingredients in a blender/food processor and process until smooth; taste and adjust salt and lime, if needed.

One Comment

  1. elliek
    Posted July 9, 2008 at 8:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m excited you tried these, but sad they didn’t turn out as you had hoped…:( I think I still want to try them. Good to know the onions turned out on the spicy side! Sometimes peppers are so fickle – you never really know how spicy they are going to be!

2 Trackbacks

  1. By 2 Play » Blog Archive » Fish Tacos on July 9, 2008 at 8:49 am

    […] Fish Tacos 2 fish fillets suitable for grilling (such as mahi mahi, snapper, tuna or tilapia; I used tilapia) Vegetable oil Spice rub (recipe follows) 12 (6 in) corn tortillas Avocado Aioli (recipe follows) Thinly sliced cabbage … […]

  2. By Best recipes from around the web » Fish Tacos on July 10, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    […] Elizabeth wrote a fantastic post today on “Fish Tacos”Here’s ONLY a quick extractSo I have been looking for a good fish tacos recipe for a long time. Last Wednesday, Ellie and I went to a Whole Foods Lunch Express cooking class and the topic of the day? Fish tacos. At the class they were delicious, just the right … […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

