Hippie(Chick) Beth.

(OK, in honor of the hilarity that Amanda beat me to posting about this and I’ve had this sitting in my ‘drafts’ for about a week now, I will go ahead and post about it too!)

It’s true. I’m turning into a hippie. I’m making my own clothes, concerned with the environment and I have been considering going ‘no poo’ (no shampoo) for a little while now. There are so many reasons (and more reasons) to do this, some of the reasons are that shampoo/conditioners involve chemicals that are toxic (or potentially toxic) for you, toxic for the environment and lastly, they’re often expensive! Not to mention shampoo was created in the last 100 years and conditioner was created to conteract what shampoo was doing to people’s hair (shampoo removes oil from your hair, conditioner adds it back??!!). I am going to embark on this journey soon especially because I found two different parabens in both my shampoo and conditioner the other day. I’ll be sure to update y’all to let you know if it really is working and what I think about it all.

And to think, this whole idea started from Angry Chicken (I kinda want to try out the deodorant receipe. . . hm. . . anyone want to go in on the materials that I would have to buy? I think I’m going to Whole Foods tonight to pick up some supplies) and Mindy’s post on chemicals in beauty products. This is what I get for using Google Reader to keep up with people’s blogs!

And I am completely coming to terms with that fact that I am becoming a hippie (but just not a dirty one, a clean, environmentally friendly hippie).

4 Comments

  1. Posted July 9, 2008 at 3:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am glad that you are a clean environmentally friendly hippie rather than a dirty one…that makes being your friend sooooo much easier! LOL I am excited that I am not alone in my hippie endeavors — we will have to compare notes.

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted July 9, 2008 at 4:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I know, right?!

    We will definitely have to compare notes. I’m curious where this all will lead us. . .

  3. cooperella
    Posted July 9, 2008 at 5:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    and yet another post which proves that Beth is, in fact, my personal hero.

    I think it’s great that you’re being pro-active and trying unconventional (and therefore slightly scary) ways to make your daily life more healthy. it’s really inspiring – and I love that we can trade info!

    ps – i’m going to have to check out this google reader thing! 🙂

  4. elliek
    Posted July 10, 2008 at 8:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    Exciting stuff! I put a little comment on Amanda’s blog about this too. I’m not so sure how I feel about the deoderant…or the shampoo for that matter. Of course, I’m not sure I can do the shampoo because of my psorisis…but maybe I’ll think about trying it out. I think your ‘hippiness’ is so fun! I got called a hippi a lot in high school but I think that had more to do with my clothes than any actual decisions I was making.

One Trackback

  1. […] by Elizabeth under Uncategorized   Well, it’s been exactly one month since I started the modified version of no ‘poo (using the baking soda/ACV everyday). It went well for quite awhile, but now I’m starting to […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

