Book Club:: Farenheit 451

I finished up this month’s book, Farenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury very quickly (obviously, since book club is not until July 25th) because I really enjoyed the book. It is amazing to me how a book written in the 1950s has such insight into the current situation of the world (although I was cracked up by the references to nuclear bombing in the 1990s!).

Some of my favorite quotes from the book that touch on the insight that Bradbury had:

“He felt her there, he saw her without opening his eyes, her hair burnt by chemicals to a brittle straw, her eyes with a kind of cataract unseen but suspect far behind the pupils, the reddened pouting lips, the body as thin as a praying mantis from dieting, and her flesh like white bacon. He remembered her no other way.”

“School is shortened, discipline relaxed, philosophies, histories, languages dropped, English and spelling gradually gradually neglected, finally almost completely ignored. Life is immediate, the job counts, pleasure lies all about after work. Why learn anything save pressing buttons, pulling switches, fitting nuts and bolts?”

“We’ve started and won two atomic wars since 1990! Is it because we’re having so much fun at home we’ve forgotten the world? Is it because we’re so rich and the rest of the world’s so poor and we just don’t care if they are? I’ve heard rumors; the world is starving, but we’re well fed. Is it true, the world works hard and we play? Is that why we’re hated so much?”

I would highly recommend this book. I feel it’s a cross between Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World and Ayn Rand’s Anthem so if you enjoyed either of those two books, you would enjoy this book.

4 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted July 11, 2008 at 7:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m glad you liked it so much! I’m very excited to read it. I really enjoyed Brave New World while I was in college, so I think I’ll like this too. I’m planning on taking it with me on the plane to Mexico!

  2. Posted July 11, 2008 at 8:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am about half way through…it has been interesting [and I say that with a weird tone}. Enjoyable, but I am kind of to the point where I am ready to see Montag start changing. Glad you liked it…that means there is still hope for me. 🙂

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted July 30, 2008 at 4:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So. . . they may be making a new movie: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0360556/

  4. Posted July 31, 2008 at 9:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yep…and it looks like Tom Hanks is out. Hmmm…I wonder who will play the leads.

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] with classics that I hadn’t read in high school. This idea started with our book club reading Farenheit 451. It seems that many had read this before in high school but I had not. What other books had I not […]

  2. […] Louis Lowry, The Giver, book review by Elizabeth The Giver by Louis Lowry reminds me a lot of Farenheit 451, Anthem or Brave New World in the sense that these books begin with a Utopian society in place and […]

  3. […] philosophies and followers, this book is a quick and interesting read. Again, I can compare it to Farenheit 451, the Giver, Brave New World – all stories of a ‘utopian’ society that is brought […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

