Hancock

So, one of the types of movies Jason and I both get excited to see are comic book type movies. And I must say, I had low expectations for this movie. I’d heard such conflicting reviews that I didn’t know if this movie was going to be worth my time but I love a dinner at Alamo Drafthouse so we went to check the movie out last night (I know, a date night in the middle of the week?! We’re changing things up!).

Well, I was pleasantly surprised! It was an entertaining movie (although the ending was a bit. . . unexpected) and I laughed and cringed and just basically enjoyed the movie! I think it is true that Will Smith could probably sell any movie no matter what the story line.

And if you don’t know the story line to this movie, Hancock is an ill-tempered, inebriated, infamous hero of Los Angeles. He doesn’t know his history and doesn’t have a good reputation among his city. Hancock saves Ray (Jason Bateman), a public relations guy, from being run over by a train (while causing quite a bit of destruction) and Ray becomes determined to turn around Hancock’s image with the city.  By the end of the movie, Hancock learns his history and well . . . I bet you could guess what else happens. Overall, I think it was a good movie, worth seeing in the theatre but if you’re not that interested in super hero stories, wait until it comes out on DVD.

Next up, The Dark Knight!

4 Comments

  1. Posted July 10, 2008 at 11:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hancock looks like interesting spin on the latest superhero movie craze… if nothing else at least Will Smith tends to be pretty funny

  2. elliek
    Posted July 11, 2008 at 7:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hmmm…maybe we’ll go see that.

  3. Posted July 13, 2008 at 1:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    If you don”t have tickets to the dark knight yet, we’re planning to get a group together to go see it at the imax theater on the 26th… should be awesome!

  4. Posted July 16, 2008 at 5:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    i might just have to talk sarah into this one for our thursday movie night. i love will smith.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

