Day 3 of Homemade Deodorant and No ‘Poo

And I am amazed! The deoderant has turned out to be great! I would recommend it to anyone. If it can keep me from being stinky after being outside during the Texas summer. . . it’s pretty much a guarentee for everyone. Here’s the recipe (which is from Angry Chicken):

Homemade Deoderant
3 Tablespoons shea butter
3 Tablespoons baking soda
2 Tablespoons corn starch
2 Tablespoons cocoa butter
2 vitamin E oil gel caps (puncture and squeeze out the oil)
Essential Oil (I didn’t use any this time around)

Melt all the ingredients (except the oils) and give it a good stir. It only takes about 30 seconds in the microwave. Then add the oils, stir again, and pour it in a jar. Place it in the fridge to set. This recipe makes about 1/2 pint.

I bought all of the ingredients from Central Market. They also had these great little plastic containers that you normally put their natural face masks and scrubs in that I got for a $1.

So my first batch of the deodorant has set up a little bit too firm for my likings so I may add a bit less cocoa butter the next time around. Right now I use my hair dryer to warm it up so I can scoop some out and roll it on. I have worn the deodorant with sleeveless shirts and it doesn’t rub off on your clothes and it doesn’t leave white residue on black. It’s pretty much like a lotion, you rub it in, your skin absorbs it and you can forget about it (and you still don’t smell!). The smell of the deodorant without the essential oils smells a bit like a chocolate candy bar (because of the cocoa butter) but you can’t smell it once it’s on. All this to say, I highly recommend this. Everyone should try it! (Note: It is a deodorant, not a antiperspirant. . . )

On to the No ‘Poo. I started this on Saturday and right now I’m a bit blah about it. They say it takes about 2-4 weeks for your hair to get adjusted. So, I’m still in the transition stage. My hair doesn’t look bad at all, Jason claims it already looks better, but I still have a wait and see attitude.

I have been using one tablespoon of baking soda and mixing it into a paste with a little bit of water and rubbing it through my hair. “A little baking soda can not only remove the rest, but take care of the build-up from hair products, shampoos and anything else you might pick up, [as well as deodorizing].” I finish up by spraying on a solution of one cup of water with 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar that I keep in a spray bottle in my shower. “When used on your scalp, it helps promote circulation, acts as a natural antiseptic, and dissolves excessive fatty deposits and reduces scaling or peeling of the skin. As for use on hair, it helps to clarify, detangle, balances hair’s pH level and seals the cuticles.” There’s more info about the No ‘Poo (as well as trouble shooting if it’s not working for you) on this website, which is where I have gathered most of my information.

Update: Lexie asked me some good questions that I thought I would answer on here. I rinse out the ACV after I’ve sprayed it in and your hair does notsmell like ACV when all is said and done. I’m toying with the idea of adding a drop of essential oils to the mixture, but I’m not sure if it would throw things off. . . I don’t currently own any essential oils so we’ll tackle that once I actually own some!

So, I’ll keep you guys updated as I get a little deeper into to this No ‘Poo thing. . .

One Comment

  1. Posted July 16, 2008 at 5:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    whoa, that’s crazy cool.

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] conclusive evidence against them. But in my thoughts, better safe than sorry. I’ll just begin making my own of what I can so I know the ingredients! (Kinda the same reasons it’s better to cook at […]

  2. […] else, what else . . . well the  deodorant still rocks and I’ve been using it for over 2 weeks now. Bunches of people I know have […]

  3. […] Homemade Deodorant – I am still using it and still love it, although I’m planning on trying Amanda’s version as soon as I run out. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

