Sewing Extravaganza: Part Deux

So, Ellie, Amanda and I had our second sewing party this Saturday. I did not come prepared due to a hectic week (and probably should have been ‘shunned’ from the party, but Amanda and Ellie were kind to me) so I spent the first 2 hours cutting out and ironing my fabric for my tunic dress.

So, my thoughts on the tunic/dress, (which is from Sew Everything Workshop by Diana Rupp), it was a lot more difficult than I had anticipated and it took much longer than I expected. The neck hole and the arm holes were sewn differently than I would have expected, although now i feel like I learned a new skill, so that’s a bonus for sure. I’m not sure if I would sew this tunic again as it was very large on me even though I had sewn my size. I had to take in one inch on each side just to prevent it from looking like a tent. I think I could still take in some extra to prevent the dress from bunching when I use the belt (which I created because I didn’t like feel like I didn’t have a waist). I may also shorten it to be a long shirt because it is just a little short for my tastes (especially if I have to bend over, no one wants to see that!).

Well anyways, here’s a picture of the tunic as a dress:

And a picture from our sewing day:
Ellie (middle) made the apron for Tie One On (which I think would make a cute halter if you added a back to it!) and Amanda (right) made a pool tote and the skirt (which she whipped up so quickly, I was jealous!).

I’d love to know your thoughts on the tunic if you’ve tried it out, or just your thoughts on improvements to my attempt at the tunic. . . Next up, the Sew Everything Workshop boxers and another Nappy Bag. . .

6 Comments

  1. Posted July 14, 2008 at 1:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thoughts on the Tunic… a pair of black linen pants would look absolutely precious with it, and because the tunic goes over, all you would need to tie the pants is a drawstring 🙂

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted July 14, 2008 at 1:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s a good idea – I do have a pattern for yoga pants that are drawstring. . .

  3. Posted July 14, 2008 at 2:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sassy picture!! 😉

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted July 14, 2008 at 2:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, I contemplated not putting it up or cropping out my face. I was so tired when we took that pictures, I don’t know why I made a face like that!

  5. Goosie Girl
    Posted July 14, 2008 at 3:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    A sewing party, oh how fun! I wish I had friends who loved to sew. I think the tunic looks great on you. I think you’re right though, maybe take it up a bit around the waist. But the length is good… just slip on some cute little flops and you’re ready to go this summer. color is very sassy on you too. Great job!

  6. Wes
    Posted July 17, 2008 at 5:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think that green dress is really cute! Kind of a throw back…good job!

One Trackback

  1. […] Beth: Green Linen Tunic/Dress Ellie: Halter Apron with Gingham for Tie One On Amanda: A-line Skirt and Tote Bag […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

