The Road

OK book club friends, I’m sorry. I know this is a book that’s a possible ‘to-read’ for book club. I just had to read it – it’s been sitting on my shelf since Christmas of last year and has been recommended to me so strongly by such a variety of people. I started the book on Monday and finished it last night. That may speak to how easy the book is to read and how quickly you get immersed in the apocalyptic world that the boy and the man are in.

The Road, by Cormac McCarthy is a Pulitzer Prize winning book. The setting is in the future, in a burnt America where most have died (you never learn exactly what happened). The man and the son are making their way on the state highway roads, trying to stay about from the bad men (who you find out have resorted to cannabalism to survive) and find others who are ‘carrying the fire’. McCarthy writes in such a way that the tone is communicated clearly; he writes without chapters, without character names, without apostrophes in conjunctions and without quotations. As a result, the book feels hollow, empty and monotone with deep, weathered sadness lurking underneath it all – much like people would feel having walked around the country, scavenging meals and hiding from murders.  The man pushes through each day only for the sake of his son and the memory of his wife.

I have a feeling this book is going to haunt me for weeks. I’m still wrestling through the conclusion of the book and I think I will be for several days. It was a fascinating book, deeply heart wrenching – I read it with a feeling of sadness that wanted to cry but never broke through to tears. I would recommend this book if you don’t mind a darker (but somehow beautiful) storyline.

And I still would like to know what your favorite book is if you haven’t told me already. It’s interesting to see which books have impacted people the most.

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 17, 2008 at 5:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Cheater! 🙂 Just kidding. I actually picked this one up the other day at Good Will for $2 — so whether or not we read it for book club, I will still have it on my “to read” list.

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted July 17, 2008 at 5:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, that’s a sweet deal. Didn’t even know Goodwill had books! I think we’re going there tonight so I’ll have to see if any that are on my list are there.

  3. elliek
    Posted July 18, 2008 at 8:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beth! You’ve read all the book club books! That’s so not the point of the book club! You are a cheater! And you’re making feel like I am not very well read at all!

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted July 18, 2008 at 8:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have not read all the book club books, just Thousand Splendid Suns and The Time Traveler’s Wife and I read those long before bookclub got started! AND I’m going to read Time Traveler’s Wife again when we read it with book club because I’ve been wanting to read it again!

    I think this one is being ranked in the bottom of our survey so I was thinking we probably wouldn’t read this one for book club. I don’t want to force what I want to read on the rest of the readers!

  5. Posted July 18, 2008 at 10:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    if you do share, title it “girly issues” or something, so I’ll be warned.

  6. Posted July 18, 2008 at 10:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    oops, commented on the wrong post

  7. Posted July 18, 2008 at 10:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    I agree, Beth, I don’t think book clubbers look very interested in that read…so while I still think you cheated (LOL) it is okay this time.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

