Boys – This Post Isn’t for You.

OK, I am going to post about this even though it’s personal. Boys, this post is not for you.

I have started using something new for that grand ‘ol time of month. There are two main reasons why: 1 – There are a lot of chemicals involved with traditional pads and tampons; 2 – pads and tampons go to the landfill and that’s just gross and wrong. I know the true dirty hippie thing to do are reusable cloth pads. Cloth pads are just . . . um, not for me. (Ew. Yuck. Gross. No way.) Let me reiterate, I’m a clean hippie.

It’s called the Diva Cup. I really like it. No more worries about accidents or having ‘supplies’ with you at all times or TSS. Also, it’s cheaper in the long term.

I think this post says it best. I’d encourage you to read up on this thing and see if it is something you would be interested in trying. I’m not going to go into details about how it’s used. Their website will tell you all of that.

As far as buying this thing, I searched www.froggle.com to find the cheapest option (there are two, make sure you get the right one for you: one for pre-baby women/younger than 30 and one for post-baby women/older than 30).

That is all. 🙂

9 Comments

  1. Posted July 18, 2008 at 11:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    Way to put it out there! I have only heard of the disposable Instead cups…but have never tried it. I will read about this one though and see what I think.

  2. Squawkfox
    Posted July 18, 2008 at 11:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for the mention. I love the Diva Cup and I am so happy I wrote about it in: Ten Reasons the Diva Cup can Change Your Life. Not only does it save women A LOT of money over the years, but it’s just cleaner, and more comfortable, and better for the environment. I am so happy you wrote about it too. 😀

  3. Posted July 18, 2008 at 11:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    My above comment didn’t seem to show up as being from me, Squawkfox. LOL

    Thanks again for the mention! HUGS!

  4. Posted July 18, 2008 at 4:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i’ve been using it for 4 or 5 years and i’ll never go back!!!!
    it can be a little gross in the beginning but you get “better” at it? and you’re life is never the same.
    =)

  5. Posted July 19, 2008 at 1:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have actually considered buying some cloth pads from Modern Acorn. But I live in the high desert and using water to clean it is just as bad as just throwing the disposables away. I’ll have to investigate the Diva cup now too. Thanks for the link.

  6. Shelley
    Posted July 21, 2008 at 11:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    After considerable difficulties with the alternatives, I may need to consider this… hmmm… could this be the solution for world peace?

  7. Posted July 22, 2008 at 10:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    So you’ve already switched, and have found it to work well? Was it difficult to get adjusted to? I’m thinking about switching once my “supplies” run out. 🙂

    How is the no poo going?

  8. Elizabeth
    Posted July 22, 2008 at 11:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have switched and it works really great – so much easier, less messy, you don’t have to cart the extra ‘supplies’ around. . . pretty great! There is a learning curve for sure – use some backup the first couple of days until you get the hang of it. Then something clicks, and you get it!

    The no ‘poo is going a lot better – I think my hair is adjusting well. I approach the 2 week mark on Saturday. I’ll post about it a bit more then. 🙂

  9. elliek
    Posted July 28, 2008 at 1:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is really interesting…I think I might try it! although it makes me a little nervous…

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Fundraising » Boys - This Post Isn’t for You. on July 18, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    […] Elisabeth Kristof wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptBoys, this post is not for you. I have started using something new for that grand ‘ol time of month. There are two main reasons why: 1 – There are a lot of chemicals involved with traditional pads and tampons; 2 – pads and tampons go to … Read the rest of this great post here […]

  2. By a reminder for you ladies « think liz. on March 19, 2010 at 8:02 am

    […] it out. Ladies, if you haven’t been reading my blog for a long time, I invite you to read my original post on this topic. And I still think that this post sums up the benefits best. Boys, this is my warning […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

