Jazz into the Sunset

Oh, I love Austin. But I’m pretty sure most of you know that about me already. This fact was further reinforced last night as we ate a delicious cheese plate, listened to Big Band Jazz put on by the Austin Symphony, gazed at our ever changing skyline on the river, chatted with new friends T and C and watched the sun set. Happiness abounded. 🙂 Below are some pictures of our fun night.

And if you wanted to know (really I just wanted to share) our cheese plate consisted of parmesan reggiano, cambozola – my fav, gouda, cheddar, sliced apples, black grapes, dried cherries, pepperoni, almonds, a feta olive salad, whole wheat crackers, hawaiian bread, some fizzy grapefruit Italian sodas and Milano cookies (that we mashed into some frozen custard from Sandy’s). That’s what I call my perfect snacky dinner!

Update: I realized I forgot to mention that we all were wearing the fun Don’t Bite Me Patch and Jason and I didn’t get any bites (and I have been getting attacked regularly as soon as I step foot outside). . . haven’t asked T and C if they have. . . but I finally figured out what the smell reminds me of – Flintstone’s Vitamins! Yay for toxic chemical free bug repellent!

8 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted August 4, 2008 at 1:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow…if only I had known about the food, I would have nagged Jeremy a little more about going!

  2. elliek
    Posted August 4, 2008 at 1:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You’ve been tagged http://elliek.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/tagged-again/

  3. Posted August 4, 2008 at 6:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Should have brought some wine.

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted August 4, 2008 at 7:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I agree – we saw several people with bottles of wine while we were there. It was just put so plainly and boldly on the symphony’s website that alcohol was prohibited that we didn’t want to take the chance. But we know now that a bottle of wine probably isn’t that big of a deal after all.

  5. Posted August 4, 2008 at 8:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    looks like fun. I saw these on flickr and was wondering what they were. what is that bridge thing in the photos?

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted August 4, 2008 at 10:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s actually not a bridge at all – it’s an arcade/columnade that’s attached the building. It delineates the outdoor performance space from the building from the event lawn. It’s pretty cool – whenever I pass by the building on the street I think it looks like a roller coaster.

  7. Posted August 5, 2008 at 1:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I came over here expecting a post today, and you haven’t written yet! I don’t know what to do now! 🙂

    Seriously, jazz in the park sounds lovely. Our little town has something similar, but certainly not on scale you were able to enjoy. 🙂

  8. Posted August 5, 2008 at 4:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We had fun too!! We noticed quite a few people had wine — some of them less blatant than others. I saw a couple with it in a Nalgene bottle that they poured into cups! 🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] day I was cleaning out my fridge trying to figure out what to do with left over cheese from the outdoor Symphony dinner, boxes of pasta shells, leftover ricotta cheese and a half jar of sun dried tomatoes both leftover […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

