Another Nappy Bag!

{Sorry everyone who came looking for a post – I was out of the office today and didn’t have internet access. I scheduled two posts to post while I was out but it never seems to work the way it should! But better late than never!}

So I’m sad because Jason is out of town in San Francisco on business 😦 (dang I wish I could go with him) but instead of moping around, I’m determined to finish up some of the projects that have been accumulating on my sewing list. Tonight I finished up another Nappy Bag for one of my coworkers. The fabric is IKEA fabric, which I like for this bag because it’s a bit sturdier and helps the bag keep it’s form. I  think it turned out awesome – I left out the cell phone pocket because it always turns out WAY too small for a real cell phone. This bag comes together really quickly – it only took me 2.5 hours to sew it (more to cut it out, but we all know how fun cutting out fabric is. . .woo.) and I was surprised – I think once you sew one of these, it’s exponentially easier the second time around. Really though, I’m getting spoiled by Amy Butler’s patterns, they are so easy to read and understand. Someday, I’ll branch out, but for now, I’ll still to Amy Butler and Diane Rupp. 🙂 Next up, pot holders, an apron, a robe and a skirt. Hmm. I don’t know if I will be able to finish ALL of those this week. We will see.

8 Comments

  1. Posted August 5, 2008 at 7:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Two posts… well, I guess this makes up for it being late. 🙂 Just kidding.

    I absolutely love your fabric choice here. So pretty. I’d like to make the Amy Butler quilt that’s on her site. So pretty when it’s all done.

  2. Posted August 5, 2008 at 8:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh that is so cute! I am loving Amy’s fabrics right now…I didn’t realize she had such cute patterns too! I am going to check that out right away!

  3. elliek
    Posted August 6, 2008 at 7:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    The bag looks great and the fabric is awesome. I went to Ikea to find fabric but couldn’t make a decision and there was no one around to help and I didn’t feel like making Jeremy wait around while I tried to figure everything out! 2.5 hour is awesome! I’m hoping the next round at the weekender bag will be exponentially easier for me (although I’m dreading cutting out fabric for that!).

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted August 6, 2008 at 8:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks Ellie. I must add a disclaimer though, I didn’t pick out the fabric – that was my coworkers job! I do really like the way it turned out though, the fabric was very cute!

  5. Posted August 6, 2008 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Did you girls know that down at the Crate and Barrel outlet in San Marcos, they sell fabric?!?! It is awesome…unfortunately when I was there I had nothing in mind so J was kind of skeptical on my buying a ton of it. Still though…it was cool fabric.

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted August 6, 2008 at 9:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh yes, I am fully aware of how awesome the fabric is! I completely love Marimekko – the Finnish designer who does tons of stuff for Crate and Barrel. I really need to go check out their fabric some time soon. The San Marcos outlets are only 20 minutes from my house!

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted August 6, 2008 at 9:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh and my current work compy background is a Marimekko sketch. I choose the Hohoi!: Maija Louekari 2004, but I might change to Matkalla maalle: Teresa Moorhouse 2007 pretty soon.

  8. jownby
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 8:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We did use the same fabric!! You cut your fabric in a different direction than I did. I think I like yours better. I’m working on Amy Butler’s Frenchy Bag right now. I think I may end up liking it better than the Nappy Bag.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

