Kenobi Restaurant and Sushi

So this past weekend, Jason and I resolved to try a new place for sushi. We have been in love with Sushi Japon for awhile now and we will still go back there, but we may have found another reliable, non busy place for sushi in Austin. Kenobi is located in the arboretum area of Austin and has a great atmosphere. We had no wait to be seated and thoroughly enjoyed the wait staff.The food came out much quicker than we were expecting compared to the normal sushi restaurant.

Sadly, it seems that all of the good sushi places are in Noth Austin (with the exception of the super exeptional Uchi Restaurant, which may be the most innovative and fancy sushi place in all of Texas).This fact makes me very sad because I already know that sushi has a pretty high carbon footprint. It is definitely not a local food. It travels from the original location of where the fish is caught, to the sushi markets in Japan back to wherever it is going to be sold for consumption all in air conditioned jets. So the fish literally makes a trip around the world (in chilly style, nonetheless) to get to it’s final destination. This realization along with my desire to live a responsible, sustainable lifestyle makes it very hard to justify eating one of my favorite foods. My conclusion is, everything in moderation. I should not be eating sushi every day for several reasons: a – it’s expensive, b – some fishes contain chemicals that can build up in your body if you eat them frequently enough, c – the fish travels around the world creating a very large carbon foot print for such a small bite.

All that being said, the highlights from our dinner included the Kobe Beef Hibachi, Sea Bass Citrus, Lickety Split roll and the u & i roll. I would highly encourage sushi lovers in the Austin area to check out Kenobi. It is worth the trip.

2 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted August 6, 2008 at 1:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think I may have eaten there. The first time Jeremy and I ate sushi it was a restaurant in the Arboretum. It’s true, there are actally quite a few sushi places in North Austin (there are three pretty much within walking distance of our apartment). You and I should make sushi again – that was so fun!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted August 6, 2008 at 1:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I agree, we should make it again. I need to get my own sushi mat . . . I still have sushi rice and seaweed though. . .

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

