Sewing My First Apron . . .

So, I tried to get some sewing done this week while Jason was away and I was sick. Sadly, my sewing machine decided to break right as I was about to finish the matching pot holders to this apron (PS, Austin friends, where do you take your sewing machine to get fixed?):

I have to say, this may have been the easiest thing I’ve sewn, ever. I made it for my mom for Christmas (I’m pretty sure my mom doesn’t read this, but if you do, sorry Mom, for ruining the surprise).

Several thoughts about the pattern:

  • It was one size fits all, which I don’t think was appropriate.
  • The apron wraps around my WHOLE body, which isn’t necessary,
  • There really isn’t much of a waist line (which may have been different if it hadn’t wrapped my whole body).
  • It also did this funny pooch thing at the top that I tried to rectify by adding a box pleat (?) which I think added a little bit of femininity to an otherwise utilitarian, masculine apron.

I have to say, it is SUPER functional, maybe not quite as cute as I had imagined from the pictures in Sew Everything Workshop. The fabric is from IKEA. I’m bummed that this will be the last thing I post on sewing for awhile until I get my silly sewing machine fixed. And I had so many projects in the works! I guess I could cut out the fabric for a bunch of the patterns . . . *sigh*

5 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted August 11, 2008 at 11:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think it looks great! Sorry about your machine. I took mine to the Bernina store in Cedar Park (kind of far for you, as you know I don’t have a Bernina but they still fixed my machine and they were the least expensive place I found in NW Austin).

    I guess having the apron wrap around your entire body could come in handy if you’re doing some crazy hardcore cooking (I think sometimes Jeremy thinks I could use an apron that wraps around my whole body, as I tend to make a mess!)

    Box pleats…I had those on my wedding dress…so I’d say they add a feminine touch!

    I guess the good thing is that you could cut out a bunch of patterns and then when you get your machine back you could jump right into sewing!

  2. Posted August 12, 2008 at 8:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    It’s cute. Looks very functional, too. I am soooo sorry to hear about your machine breaking! Bummer! I don’t have any clue as to options for repair shops…

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted August 12, 2008 at 8:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think I’ve found a shop for it – it’s just $69.99 to have it fixed which seems silly for a machine that cost $140. . .

  4. cooperella
    Posted August 12, 2008 at 9:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    totally cute!

  5. Posted August 13, 2008 at 1:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh it’s so cute! and i have to say, those two weeks without my sewing machine were THE WORST! i know how you feel! 😦 but it will be back so soon and it will be even better than new!

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] (that I plan to stuff with stuffing and catnip – that should be fun!), pot holders (to go with the apron I’ve already made), and some large lounging pillows (which I still need to buy dye […]

  2. […] and I FINALLY finished these potholders that I made for my Mom’s Christmas gift to match the apron I finished a long time ago. The pattern is from In Stitches and.  . . I don’t think I will […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

