No ‘Poo Re-evaluated

Well, it’s been exactly one month since I started the modified version of no ‘poo (using the baking soda/ACV everyday). It went well for quite awhile, but now I’m starting to get annoyed with it. My hair feels waxy, frizzy, dry and greasy at the crown consistently every day now. I’ve been giving it ‘just one more day’ for a week now. It feels a bit like I’m wearing a wig because my hair does not move like normal hair, it moves almost as a whole.

I’m sad to say it, but I think I am going to quit the no ‘poo since I don’t have the ability to allow my hair to be greasy through the ‘detox’. I still would like to find a natural shampoo (with no parabens, petroleum products, or other yucky chemicals) that you can use everyday (and possibly a conditioner with the same criteria) that does not break that bank (read: significantly less than $10 a bottle). I was going to check out W3LL People but then I checked out the cost of some of their product line online and saw that their shampoo/conditioners were over $40 a bottle. 😦 Anyone have any suggestions?

7 Comments

  1. Claire
    Posted August 12, 2008 at 9:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m sorry about your experiment. I’m sure it’s frustrating to go through with something like that for so long and have it not quite work. But it was definitely a good try!

    Chance and I saw this stuff:
    http://www.thegoodhuman.com/2008/08/12/yes-to-carrots-catchy-name-great-products/

    at Walgreens 2 nights ago. I don’t remember the prices, but…they couldn’t have been that much – it was Walgreens. And I’m not sure they fit your specs – but have a look! (:

  2. Claire
    Posted August 12, 2008 at 10:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    …at least it’s paraben free for sure! (:

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted August 12, 2008 at 10:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    You’re awesome Claire! Thanks – I just read some info on the product and it looks like what I’m looking for. I’ll try and pick some up on my way home today – there is a Walgreens right next to my house.

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted August 12, 2008 at 10:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ah found some prices online! $8 for shampoo and $8 for conditioner. I think that’s justifiable. Also, the reviews on the Walgreen’s websites look fantastic – most users are singing it’s praises! Yay!

  5. Posted August 12, 2008 at 11:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    It is pretty good, my wife is happy with it all!

  6. cooperella
    Posted August 12, 2008 at 9:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    sorry to hear it didn’t work out… but at least you can say you tried!

    i’d recommend the Whole Foods 365 line. Amy got me started on their stuff, and i’m really pleased so far. honestly, their prices are so low it’s difficult to be disappointed – I think their 16 oz bottles of shampoo/conditioner/lotion/shower gel are around $5 (or less), and the 8oz bottles are $2.50. Until recently I had been using Alba products more than double that (because they were more affordable than some of the others!). The 365 brand is all natural, no parabens/petrochemicals or artificial scents!

  7. Posted August 12, 2008 at 10:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OK, Mindy the Whole Foods 365 line will be my next try (especially because it’s so cheap!). I just bought the Say Yes to Carrot stuff tonight. Benoit actually suggested the J*A*S*O*N line too which would be convenient for me because HEB sells it.

One Trackback

  1. […] goodness, my hair is silky soft today. I did it, I quit the no ‘poo. It was such a relief this morning to see my hair go back to it’s pre no ‘poo state. No […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

