Summer Garden Tortelloni

Trying to continue a summer theme for the dinner party we had, I made Summer Garden Tortelloni, which had tomatoes, corn, basil and proscuitto. It would have be easy enough to leave out the proscuitto and make the meal vegetarian – I didn’t really think the texture of the proscuitto added much to the meal. If I make it again, I would probably crisp up the proscuitto and use it as a garnish. I did like the saltiness of the proscuitto pared with the sweetness of the corn. Overall, I liked the pasta but I didn’t love the pasta. And I have to say, it didn’t taste near as good for leftovers. But, you can try the recipe and judge for your self!

Recipe for Summer Garden Tortelloni

4 Comments

  1. Posted August 13, 2008 at 12:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wasn’t there another tortellini recipe in Bon Apetit this month? That one looked good too! I like summer foods — but I tend to pick stuff to grill out more than summery pastas. I might try this one or the other one from this month.

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted August 13, 2008 at 12:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    There was another tortellini recipe this month but it was based with mushrooms and cream. I thought about it for awhile but wanted to make something brighter, less heavy and more summery!

  3. elliek
    Posted August 13, 2008 at 12:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    it’s always so disapointing when you make something and you go to eat the leftovers the next day and it’s just not nearly as good!

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted August 13, 2008 at 12:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, that was the case with this one. Usually pasta dishes get better with time.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

