Yes to Carrots

Oh goodness, my hair is silky soft today. I did it, I quit the no ‘poo. It was such a relief this morning to see my hair go back to it’s pre no ‘poo state. No more waxy, weird feeling hair. Yes to Carrots is paraben free so that is a step in the right direction. It smells delicious (it’s a light, clean smell) and it is fairly inexpensive when compared to the range of hair products available, around $8 per bottle.

The downside: I was in a hurry when I grabbed the shampoo and condition and didn’t fully read the ingredients on the back. Sadly, it contains Sodium Lauryl Sulfate and Propylene Glycol (a derivative from natural gas). Neither are considered toxic, they’re just derived from oil. I believe we should get away from being dependent on oil in all of our products.

But overall, I really like the new shampoo and conditioner. Jason used it this morning and he liked it too! I think we’ll finish these bottles up and then I might switch to the J|A|S|O|N line of products – they’re really inexpensive and look like they are paraben and SLS free.

Update: I just checked out their website and it looks like they’re rolling out new ingredients for the Yes to Carrots line that does not include SLS or Propylene Glycol. Good stuff. Also, something else to be looking for in your beauty/health products, Tricolsan . . . scary.

4 Comments

  1. Posted August 13, 2008 at 10:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    For other options, my mom tried Dr. Bronner’s and Burt’s Bees Shampoo. She said that she really likes the Burt’s Bees the best, but either one might be an option for you to try after the Carrots one.

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted August 13, 2008 at 10:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks Amanda – it looks like they’re reasonably priced as well! I think my HEB carries them too. Ahh convenience, price and natural. Good stuff. 🙂

  3. jesse
    Posted August 13, 2008 at 11:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    thanks for this post, i kept trying to convice myself to follow your no-shampoo example, but now i’ve got some good tips on what i can use… Dr. Bronner’s is what they use at my old yoga studio – i have to admit the consistency is a little funny but i loved it! the mint is so refreshing, and it comes in bul which is also a really awesome way to cut oil in the plastic packaging.

  4. cooperella
    Posted August 16, 2008 at 12:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    oooh – just a warning, I have some of the J/A/S/O/N products… they’re functional, but I haven’t been totally happy with the scent. It’s a little too… “earthy”? for me? it makes me feel like a real hippy. I won’t throw it away, but it’s taking forever to use the whole bottle…

    ps – thanks for the tricolsan warning. sheesh, i wish i had a better background in chemistry. this stuff is totally scary!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

