Brooke Fraser:: Albertine

In all reality, I don’t listen to much Christian music. I got burnt out with it when I was in high school and the church was telling me that was all I was allowed to listen to. Additionally, I think it’s silly to have a separate genre of ‘Christian’ music. We all experience similar things in life, and a search for faith is usually one that most go through. When someone sets out to write ‘Christian’ music, sometimes it feels forced and unauthentic. Generally, I feel like this about the majority of ‘Christian’ music. Granted, I still listen to Derek Webb, but somehow he’s different because of how raw and honest he is.

So it was odd that I felt drawn to listen to Brooke Fraser. She’s a Christian artist from New Zealand. I think I initially heard her on the Relevant podcast and her sound reminded me of Ginny Owens (who I still enjoy a lot because of her authenticity) so I thought I’d look her up. Turns out, I like her music a lot.  Shadowfeet and Hymn are my favorites on this album but most of the songs are very good and worth listening to. I can’t say this will become my favorite album of all time, but it’s enjoyable and uplifting and sometimes I need that more than anything else during the work week. 🙂 Good album and I’m glad I bought it!

3 Comments

  1. Posted August 19, 2008 at 11:18 am | Permalink | Reply

    She’s awesome. She also is a worship leader with Hillsong United. If you’ve heard Hosanna, Lead Me To The Cross and None But Jesus, those are songs she wrote and leads on their albums.

  2. Posted August 19, 2008 at 11:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    i like our point about christian music having it’s own genre. they don’t have a “love genre”. music about the subject comes in all forms.

  3. Posted August 19, 2008 at 11:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    *your point

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

