Greg Laswell:: Three Flights from Alto Nido

I’ve been behind on my music posts because I have too much I want to post about! I found out about Greg Laswell from Paste Magazine’s CD. If you don’t know about Paste, it’s pretty awesome. You get a free mix CD with every magazine that showcases quality new artists. So essentially, 12 CDs with 20 new artists each time, you’re being introduced to 240 potential new artists over the course of a year. I signed up through NoiseTrade (when I downloaded Sandra McCracken’s new CD) which allowed you to set your own price for the magazine. I think I paid $4.

Anyway, Laswell’s song ‘How the Day Sounds’ was what caught my attention on the CD so I checked out more of his stuff on itunes. Again, his CD has a lot of what I look for in music, easy to work to, thoughtful, a bit melacholy and intelligent. My favorites are Comes and Goes (In Waves), Days Go On, I’d Be Lying, The One I Love . . . gosh, really I like all of them. That’s pretty rare in a CD for me. I think I would compare Greg to a less depressed Damien Rice (who is one of my all time favorites). Definitely a CD worth checking out. I think I may be checking out his other CD releases as well. 🙂

One Comment

  1. elliek
    Posted August 20, 2008 at 9:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is cool. I e-mailed the link to Jeremy because I think he might be interested in getting this magazine. I know he’s used NoiseTrade before so he might want to do it!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

