The Ultimate Tomato-Basil Soup

Since it’s summer and tomatoes are in their prime, I thought I would share this famous recipe with you. The sad news is, it is as bad for you as we all think (although some of us still think in the back of our heads ‘tomatoes are good for you’). The good news, it’s delicious. In all honesty, I have no idea where I got this recipe originally, but I’m sure there are variations of this recipes floating around all over the internet.

La Madeleine Tomato-Basil Soup
4 cups tomatoes (about 8 to 10 medium-size), peeled, cored and chopped, or 4 cups canned whole tomatoes, crushed
4 cups tomato juice
12 to 14 fresh basil leaves, chopped, plus additional for garnish
1 cup whipping cream
1/2 cup sweet unsalted butter, softened
1/4 tsp cracked black pepper
salt to taste

Combine tomatoes and juice in sauce pan. Simmer for 30 minutes over medium low heat. Cool slightly, and then place in a blender or food processor. Add basil and process to puree; this will have to be done in batches. Or use an immersion blender (my favorite kitchen tool).

Return mixture to saucepan. Add cream and butter. Stir over low heat until butter and cream are incorporated. Simmer on low for several hours to thicken as desired. Stir in salt and pepper before serving. Garnish with more fresh basil and serve with fresh, crusty bread (or Paninis). Makes 8 servings.

5 Comments

  1. Posted August 20, 2008 at 6:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    sounds yummy!

  2. Posted August 20, 2008 at 10:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    ok this totally has nothing to do with this post but more to do with you wanting to be more green 🙂 …have you heard of this book…Green Chic?? i thought maybe it looked kinda good, maybe you might like it, if you haven’t seen it already 🙂
    http://www.amazon.com/Green-Chic-Saving-Earth-Style/dp/1402210825

    also i love this blog: http://www.designsprout.com/
    it’s all about green design and decor and whatnot 🙂

    just thought i’d pass those along!

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted August 21, 2008 at 11:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for sharing Sara! I will check both of them out!

  4. maureen young
    Posted August 27, 2008 at 9:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    beth! I have been so enjoying your site since jason linked to it a few weeks ago on facebook! I love love love this soup (as you know, I used to work at la madeliene) and have searched far and wide for a place that can match it and this is dead on! I’ve only recently gotten into cooking but I can’t wait to try out more of the things on your site! and I’m a greenie, too! hope you are well!

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted August 28, 2008 at 9:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Maureen!! I’m glad that you’re enjoying the blog and I’m glad to hear that this is indeed close to the La Mad’s recipe. I love this soup although I have to limit my consumption of it because I could eat a huge bowl of it every day. 🙂

One Trackback

  1. By » Blog Archive » Recipe Backlog on January 30, 2009 at 12:36 am

    […] Basil Soup: Beth made this at one of our sewing days and I have been wanting to have it again ever since. So the same night I […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

