Functional Oragami

I’ve been needing to be crafty but with my sewing machine at the repair shop, I can’t work on the multitudes of sewing projects I have at home. So, I stumbled across this link the other day on how to make your own little jewelry gift boxes. I got bored while I was waiting for Jason to pick me up from work, so I made one out of a piece of trash. I’m kinda amazed at how sturdy and easy these little boxes were. They would make great little gift boxes!

The gift box distraction reminded me about a website I found awhile ago that I wanted to use that showed you how to write a letter and fold it up into an envelope with no cutting or glue. Letterfu is a pretty cool. I decided I would take advantage of it and send a letter to my ‘Little  Sister’!

Letterfu reminded me that I wanted to make these Matryoshka Dolls which reminded me of all of the cool things Creative Park has on it! Hopefully I’ll be able to make these dolls with my ‘Little Sister’ during lunch once school starts back up again!

Looking at the dolls further reminded me of the cool paper globes that I’ve made from Heather Bailey’s site (that I turned into a glowing globe with the help of ikea). I was thinking that these could be good to use on a project that we’re working on next week . . .

3 Comments

  1. Posted August 22, 2008 at 1:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh i love that little box…what i neat idea. hmmm…i might use that.

  2. rachaelbecker
    Posted August 29, 2008 at 8:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You know, I tried to make those globe things the other day…it was a test…with construction paper. 🙂 i thought it might be fun to hang them in my classroom. fun idea.

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted August 29, 2008 at 10:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so glad to hear that you made these! Did they turn out?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

