Mila 18

So a coworker of mine lent me Mila 18 by Leon Uris book after I told her how much I enjoyed Devil in the White City. The book had a very slow start. It took me a good quarter of the book to really get into the book but once I was immersed, I wanted to keep up with the fast paced action of the Warsaw Ghetto uprising during Nazi Germany occupation of Poland. This book wove love stories admists a hopeless situation, in which the Jewish characters in the Warsaw ghetto somehow found hope and an astounding resourcefulness to keep fighting for their lives. This book really brings the cruelty and sadness to life that the Jewish people experience during World War 2 – part of me can’t believe that people could inflict this kind of misery, pain and heartbreak on others just because of their faith. It makes me sick to know that this happened and that so many died at the hands of mislead and corrupted people.

If you enjoy historical fiction, this book is a good read (although depressing) and I recommend it.

One Comment

  1. Posted August 31, 2008 at 9:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have added this book to my “books I want to read” list…it might be a couple of years, but it’s on there nonetheless!

One Trackback

  1. […] to remind myself that these events really did happen. This story is similar to another book I read: Mila 18, which tells the story of the Warsaw ghetto uprising. Overall, such a sad topic matter but the book […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

