Portland – Day 3

Yesterday morning we decided to head out to the Portland Saturday Market. I love that markets like this exist and promote local foods, products, art and music. We saw some . . . interesting. . . stuff. We also picked up our souvenirs for the trip. Jason found his ring he had wanted for awhile – the three bands that represent the relationships of the Trinity, and I found hand pounded silver ginko leaf earrings made by a local Portland artist.

After our fun and festiveness at the market, we headed through China Town to the Classical Chinese Garden. It was interesting to compare this garden with the Japanese Garden. The differences between the two gardens were stark. The Chinese Garden was so ornate, elaborate, small, and extravagant. The Japanese garden was so simple, minimal and elegant. But at the same time both had enormous amounts thought and skill in the execution of the design. Just gorgeous, both of them. I love the depth of culture in these Asian gardens.

While we were at the Chinese Gardens, I had the pleasure in taking part of a tea ceremony. It was a white tea ‘tea flight’. It was my first time every participating in a ‘tea flight’ and I liked it a lot! Made me want to get a gorgeous tea set and have tea ceremonies at home with friends that like tea. . . . Anyone want to join me? 🙂

After we left the Chinese Gardens, we head over to the Waterfront Park. We passed back by the Saturday Market and I experienced my first ever ‘elephant ear’, which was a piece of flat bread, drenched in butter and pressed in a cinnamon/sugar mixture. Heaven, I tell you. We then enjoyed the rest of our walk along the Waterfront Park, complete with Dragon Boat Races. 🙂 Then I took a nap. Yay for naps.

For dinner we went to Masu Sushi and the highlight of the meal was some locally caught Salmon nigiri – one of the sushi chefs had caught the salmon himself. I have never had such fresh tasting salmon nigiri before.

We ended the meal with purchasing 9 pieces of exquisite chocolate to eat later and a small ‘shot’ of dark drinking chocolate at Cacao Drink Chocolate. Deliciousness and a fantastic way to end the evening (with plenty of artisan chocolate to look forward to tomorrow – it doesn’t get any better than that).

Until the next post . . . there are many more pictures on my flickr account. . . feel free to puruse.

(PS, all of the photos have been taken by Jason . . . he’s getting pretty good, isn’t he? 🙂 )

7 Comments

  1. Posted September 7, 2008 at 11:02 am | Permalink | Reply

    So fun! I will have tea with you! Also – yay! for elephant ears! I don’t think I’ve eaten one of those since living in Portland!

  2. Cynthia Coppinger
    Posted September 7, 2008 at 12:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Beth! Your trip sounds fantastic! I am so glad that y’all are having a good time! Paul said he would work at the Intel office there so I am glad I got a virtual tour of it. I also wanted to let you know that I changed my blog address it is now CynthiaCoppinger.blogspot.com. It just seemed easier…all of the same content just easier to remember. Have a safe trip!

    Cynthia

  3. Posted September 8, 2008 at 9:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    What is a tea flight? That tea set is beautiful!!

    Your husband is a very talented photographer! You said that he’s a newbie? I’m impressed!!

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted September 8, 2008 at 11:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    A tea flight is similar to a wine flight except you brew each different tea just right before you drink it. It was a beautiful ceremony – I can see how it would be fun to do with guests!

    Jason says ‘thank you’! He is a newbie but his brother is a professional photographer so he got some good lessons before we landed here in Portland.

  5. Kristin Kailing
    Posted September 8, 2008 at 7:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have like 20 canisters of fine tea, I will just give to you!

  6. honeyanddaisy
    Posted September 9, 2008 at 6:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those gingko earrings are divine! That’s a really great photo, too, btw.

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted September 9, 2008 at 11:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you! I love buying local artist’s work as something to take home with me to remember a trip. More of her work is here: http://www.beggarstombsilver.com/.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

