The Perks of Being a Wall Flower

I have been wanting to read The Perks of Being a Wall Flower by Stephen Chbosky for a long time now. I’m actually glad that I waited until just recently to read it because it was a good follow up to the Catcher in the Rye that I read awhile back. The only difference was that I enjoyed and related to this book.

The book is written as a series of letter written from Charlie to an unknown reader. When the book begins, Charlie is entering high school after the traumatic suicide of a friend. Charlie’s candid honesty, quirkiness and uniqueness quickly draw you into the story of his freshman year of high school and his struggles and joys with life, school, family, the friends he makes and his encounters with relationships. The way Charlie speaks reminds me a lot of my high school experience, especially the early years. The book in general is vaguely melancholy with it’s upbeat moments – much like the music that I love the most. Even the music that Charlie talks about is music that I enjoy. 🙂 I’m currently hooked on his favorite song in the book, ‘Asleep’ by The Smiths.

Here are a few quotes that I feel fit the mood of the book:

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”

“Then I turned around and walked to my room and closed my door and put my head under my pillow and let the quiet put things where they are supposed to be.”

“Maybe these are my glory days and I’m not even realizing it because they don’t involve a ball.”

“Please believe that things are good with me, and even when they’re not, they will be soon.”

One Comment

  1. Cynthia Coppinger
    Posted September 12, 2008 at 3:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I read this book in college for my Adolescent Literature class. I loved it! I need to read it again! I wasn’t sure that anybody had ever read this book…I am so glad I am not the only one.

    Cynthia

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] like these. Turns out recommended reading if you like the The Virgin Suicides is The Bell Jar and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, according to amazon. Maybe I should read Girl, Interrupted next and complete the recommended […]

  2. By Giveaway Winners! « think liz. on May 19, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    […] to read. My personal favorite is probably the perks of being a wallflower.” – I agree, I liked this book a lot! For the yellow bib set: 109. Cortney McLean “Thank you for the chance to win! Here is my fav […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

