In Stitches, Kimono Robe

Let me tell you, it feels really good to have my sewing machine back. Like, really good. Today’s task at hand was to finish up a robe I had cut out a couple weeks ago that is going to be a Christmas gift for my mother-in-law (Dawn, if you read this, I’m sorry for ruining the surprise!) . . . I picked up this fantastic fabric from a sale at Hancocks around a month ago with the full intent of using it to make this robe. It turned out and complemented the shape of the robe so much better than I could envision!

This was a very fun project to sew and thanks to Amy Butler and the ease of her instructions in In Stitches, it was a satisfying, quick sew! This may be the first time I didn’t have to rip our any sems! I did modify one thing on the pattern – I made the belt wider and left out the belt loops because I wanted it to have a truer kimono shape which I think wrapping the wider belt around the waist twice, achieved successfully. I may be making another one of these for myself – it’s a nice, light, Texas weather style robe. Most robes are just too warm for this climate.

3 Comments

  1. Posted September 14, 2008 at 10:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    that is SO cute. i love it. i wanna make one too!

  2. elliek
    Posted September 14, 2008 at 6:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well, on the one hand, this turned out so great and I’m so glad it was an easy project. On the other hand I’m so jealous! You know, I spent Saturday working on a robe that I had started on one of my other sewing days in July…didn’t finish it and discovered that I made it two sizes too small! So frustrating! I’ll tell you more about it later. I’m glad you finished yours!

  3. Posted September 14, 2008 at 9:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh no! Ellie, I’m so sorry – the robe that you’re working on is so cute too! I want to hear more about what happened. . . Did you guys end up having a sewing day? I probably could have joined you as I went grocery shopping on Friday but I ended up sleeping in, enjoying the morning with Jason (which doesn’t happen very often), reading and eventually sewing.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

