I signed up for my first 5K.

And it’s the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. Please visit my personal page if you’re interesting in donating but really I just wanted to share my excitement in signing up for my first ever 5K.

I actually was a good girl and ran a mile tonight. . . (it wasn’t hard to want to run outside because it was much colder outside than it should be in Texas during September, weird); hopefully I can keep that up because that first mile back in running was rough. It’s been over a month. Whew. Well, it’s time to go to bed. There have been too many posts for today. I’ll probably run again on Wednesday night. You guys should bug me a bunch and ask me if I’m running so that way I actually keep with it! 🙂

Ok. Goodnight.

7 Comments

  1. Posted September 16, 2008 at 12:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    Tonight was a good night to start running! Great weather! When is the Komen? Did you sign up with a team or by yourself? My mom always does it – every year – in Tyler.

    How did you get the categories on your page? I remember your blog about it…but…I don’t remember you saying exactly how you did it – just that you were excited that you could. So…teach me, master of blogger.

  2. Posted September 16, 2008 at 6:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    http://lifehacker.com/software/running/couch-to-5k-in-6-weeks-187439.php

    You not have to start at day one if you’re already running a little. 🙂

  3. Posted September 16, 2008 at 8:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beth — i think this is soooooo awesome, especially since we have been dealing with breast cancer for the past year with my mom. I think it is great you are getting back into running, but even greater that you choose this particular race!

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted September 16, 2008 at 8:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the encouragement ladies! I certainly need it.

    Dar, that link is awesome. Thanks for sharing it. It’s been awhile since I’ve ran regularly so having some sort of plan of action is a great idea. 🙂

    Jason and I were going to the gym 2-3 times at week at 6am in the morning for a couple of months. Then it went to 1-2 times a week, to once a week to once every 2 weeks . . . to well, nothing at all. I’m hoping having this inspiring 5k as a goal will push me into getting back into the groove. We will see.

    I must say, running a 5K in Austin requires training outside which I’m not used to. Silly hills (that I love so much). I’m glad I have hills in my neighborhood to train on!

    Claire – I’ll e-mail you about the blog thingy.

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted September 16, 2008 at 3:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, duh sorry. Claire, I didn’t answer some of your questions. I signed up as an individual and the race is November 2nd.

  6. Posted September 16, 2008 at 8:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Good for you, Elizabeth! I really think this is a great idea! I signed up for triathlon last spring – you know, to force me to train (who wants to look silly?). It helped so much (well until the end of the triathlon anyway).

    You will do great! Careful in the Texas heat, though! I could barely handle it in the Michigan spring!

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted September 16, 2008 at 9:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the encouragement Sheri! I’m hoping that by November the Texas heat will have lessened. It’s not too bad if I run early in the morning or later in the evening.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

