Honey Chicken Skewers with Grilled Corn Salad

Continuing my cooking new recipes spree, I tried this recipe out on a couple of friends. It’s funny because I notice myself gravitating towards honey and soy glazes. What can I say, I like the combo. 🙂 This glaze was almost like a honey barbecue sauce since it had the addition of ketchup (which now I have in my head to try and make ketchup from scratch, thanks Sheri – I’m still waiting on that recipe!).

Overall, this recipe was quick and easy. I did change one thing since I had limited grill space since we were grilling inside – I cut the corn from the cob and then put it in a skillet with melted butter. I didn’t stir, I just allowed the corn to caramelize for awhile before I stirred it. Once it was done, I stirred in the scallions. I think that’s my favorite way to make corn. Anyways, it’s a nice, quick, weeknight meal (although we ate it on Sunday) that I would recommend for people to try out if they like they like honey BBQ sauce.

Recipe for Honey Chicken Skewers with Grilled Corn Salad

6 Comments

  1. Posted September 16, 2008 at 12:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Am definitely adding this to my “take camping” file…thanks!!!!

  2. elliek
    Posted September 16, 2008 at 3:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks really good. I saw it in your flickr photos and wondered when you were going to tell us what it was!

  3. Posted September 16, 2008 at 6:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    that looks like a good recipe.I like the tip about putting the skewers in water before you grill them.To give more info about the corn you should take off the silk and leave husks on. There are some good tips and reicpes at http://www.cookingandgrillinoutdoors.com

  4. Posted September 16, 2008 at 8:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The recipe I tried was a dud, but I found a couple of others that look good. Maybe between the both of us we can find one that works.

    Here are a couple:

    http://www.mothering.com/discussions/showthread.php?t=950361&highlight=ketchup&page=2

    and

    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/HOMEMADE-KETCHUP-109037

  5. Posted September 16, 2008 at 8:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, and this is completely off topic, but from glimpses of your home, it looks beautiful! Perhaps if you ever run out of ideas for posts, you could just post some pics of your home.

    Maybe it’ll inspire the less um, decorating savvy. 🙂

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted September 16, 2008 at 9:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    outdoorgriller – Taking out the silk and leaving the husk on is my second favorite way to cook corn! Once they are silk-less, I soak the corn in water and then either put them in the oven or on the grill. They come out perfect every time!

    Sheri, thanks for passing on the recipes for ketchup. I may have to try one very soon. And thank you for your sweet compliments on my home. I really love my house and the way everything turned out, maybe I will ask Jason to take some fancy pictures someday soon.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

