Fancy German Pancakes

So you may have picked up on the fact that I cook for a good amount of people every so often. We host a dinner party every other week (or so) and I am always trying to come up with fun recipes that I can cook on a large scale without breaking the bank. Sometimes I go crazy and make a really intricate meal. Sometimes we go buffet style. The other night we did a pancake buffet.

I was inspired by Make and Take’s Pop Up Pancake Recipe, but thought it was a bit too egg-y for my tastes. So I merged several recipes until I came up with one that I liked. And here it is!

Cupcake German Pancake Puffs
8 eggs
2 T sugar
1 t salt
1 1/3 c sifted flour
1 1/3 cup milk
1/4 c soft butter
Heat oven to 375 degrees. Butter muffin tins. Put eggs in blender and process at stir until light yellow in color. Add remaining ingredients and process until smooth. Pour ½ inch into each muffin tin and bake 15 minutes or until lightly golden. Serve with butter, jam and maple syrup. Makes 60 muffins. (This recipe halves and doubles very well.) You can also pour thin layers of the the batter into cake pans to make BIG pancakes. 🙂 I tried that this morning.

Along with the normal maple syrup, butter and jam we served ours with a selection of Nutella, strawberries, bananas, peanut butter, a reduced berry sauce, fresh whipped cream and honey. Delcious-ness was proclaimed by all!

3 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted September 17, 2008 at 8:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    yay! I’m so glad it all worked out!

  2. Posted September 17, 2008 at 9:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    I will have to try this one and see if it is better than the Pop Up recipe, b/c I, too, thought it was a bit eggy.

  3. Posted September 17, 2008 at 9:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    It’s still very eggy but I think that’s just the nature of German pancakes. To me, these were a bit less eggy than the Pop up recipe. I hope that you enjoy them!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

