I need feedback.

So I’m thinking of moving my blog to my own web domain. For those of you who have done that, what are the positives and the negatives?

I’ve worked a bit on a design for a ‘new’ blog but I now want to know what people think of the new design. It is currently up at ‘http://blog.thinkliz.com/‘ but don’t comment there, comment here, because this is still my ‘up and running’ blog.

Help? (This would be a great time for you lurkers to come out of the woodwork and give me your comments, *cough* Amanda J., Jenny, Lexie *cough*)

12 Comments

  1. Posted September 17, 2008 at 4:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Design wise we should soften up the orange a bit, otherwise just minor tweaks cause I like the overall feel of it.

    Domain wise, I love the domain name (since I thought of it). Hosting your own gives you a ton of extra features like commenters being able to subscribe to comments so they know if anyone else is replying to them. Improved search engine visibility. You obviously have way more control over the design. The “share on Facebook” is a cool feature where if someone likes the post enough they can share it. The “permalinks” are better because it’s simply blog.thinkliz.com/title-of-post which I like a lot. I can seamlessly move over all of your old posts plus the comments from them.

    But you lose the WordPress.com network which means people can’t find your site from the tags.

    I’d like to see other people’s opinions on the functionality differences/preferences.

  2. elliek
    Posted September 17, 2008 at 8:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think it looks great!

  3. rachaelbecker
    Posted September 17, 2008 at 9:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hmmm…I love the background and the little icons you used in the heading…very professional like. My first impression of the header was that it was too busy, or maybe that the words kind of melded in with the background? I think the design is good, but maybe like Jason was saying-lighten up the colors in the background? Not sure…it looks like it’ll be pretty cool!

  4. rachaelbecker
    Posted September 17, 2008 at 9:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Or, what if you kept the bold heading, but used white words? They might not compete so much then.

  5. Posted September 17, 2008 at 11:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It seems like the green heading you have now is very you. The other one is too, but every time I see your heading – both the font and the color – I think, “that’s totally Beth.” (Actually, every time I see that color I think of you. I bought a green shirt with the Chicago skyline on it for $5 at Old Navy a few weeks ago and every time I look at it I think, “this looks like a shirt Beth would wear.”) Other than that, I think the new site would be great.

  6. Posted September 18, 2008 at 9:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    I like it. as long as you can comment with openID or a google account, and RSS it.

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted September 18, 2008 at 9:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the feedback y’all! And keep it coming (Lexie, Jenny, Amanda J, where are y’all?). I’m going to make some revisions through the course of the day and I’ll post again. I’m thinking I might make a couple of headings and see which y’all think works the best. I’ll incorporate some of your suggestions!

    Jonny, the commenting and RSS will operate the same way it does on this site (although the RSS will have a new address). The blog is still set up in wordpress format, just a new layout! 🙂

  8. Posted September 18, 2008 at 9:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    Here I am!

    The color scheme is very nice and very you. I say leave the orange despite what Jason says. I love the menu in a transparent subdued grey… but grey’s my favorite color, and you know that. The only quip I have is that even though I love the font, I don’t think it fits… quirky I know, you can disregard that comment if you want. As for the functionality, since it’s limited right now, I guess I’ll comment more once you move the blog over 🙂

    Peace, love & Aggies…

  9. Posted September 18, 2008 at 11:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    I agree with Lexie on the font…and I think it would pop more if it was white. Everything else on the design seems clean and bright…except the font for the title.

    I love having my blog on my own domain b/c of the freedom it gives you to design and change things up the way you want them…greater flexibility and control…and I am a control freak! LOL

  10. Elizabeth
    Posted September 18, 2008 at 11:30 am | Permalink | Reply

    OK, back to the old font, changed it to white and rearranged the little leaf icons to make a more comprehensive icon.

    Any thoughts now?

  11. Posted September 18, 2008 at 1:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    mucho magnifico! muah!

    I like that TONS better!

  12. Posted September 18, 2008 at 2:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ditto.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

