Sigh.

I want a beer at Thirsty Thursday but instead I’m going to go running (and I went running last night too, I will do this 5K right!).

In other news. . . I’m still struggling with the website design. Made a bunch of revisions today. I think I like the background now. I’m struggling the most with the header.

Which direction should I pursue? It seems from general consensus that the first option with the leaf backgrounds was too busy. I can’t find a balance of busy and not busy. It ends up looking very sterile and businessy if it’s not busy.

Option 1?

Option 2?

12 Comments

  1. Posted September 18, 2008 at 6:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The first one. For what it’s worth, I REALLY like the first one. Very warm, and it doesn’t seem busy to me at all.

  2. Posted September 18, 2008 at 7:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I like the first one more – I like the second one too, but it’s almost too simple. The only thing I dislike about the first one is the right alignment. Could you reverse the graphic and have the Elizabeth be left aligned? Just a thought.

  3. Posted September 18, 2008 at 7:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    lol. Although, I really like it right aligned with your current layout. I don’t know why the alignment bothers me on the new layout. I’m weird.

  4. Posted September 18, 2008 at 9:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    yay! i’m soooo excited you are doing a 5K!! i am a runner and just love it! especially races…they are so fun! also i have a domain for my blog too but i haven’t figured out how to move it there yet…is it hard?? i really like the leaf design because i like the colors, but i do agree with those that said it’s too busy, i think i like the second one best, but i feel like there is a big white patch on the right…what do you think? hmmm…i like the design though, but what could fill that part?? like something little…or on second glance, maybe it is fine just like that…i’ll step away and come back again and give it another look and see what i think 🙂

  5. rachaelbecker
    Posted September 18, 2008 at 9:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I really like option 1 now. The background lends itself to having words over it. It’s really cool looking! I think you’ll get it. Sometimes it just takes a little working around…pick what YOU like!

  6. Posted September 18, 2008 at 10:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I vote for the second one. I like the simplicity of it.

  7. Posted September 19, 2008 at 8:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    Option 1

  8. Posted September 19, 2008 at 8:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    At first my vote was #1. On the jpgs samples because I like having color and the orange matches the rss feed.

    HOWEVER, once there are images in posts, it will spice and change things up dramatically. (images always do baby!!!) So for that reason, I’m voting on simplicity, #2.

    those samples are deceiving, because at first glance I would say number 1, and if you were doing text only posts, I would say number 1. But as an avid reader of “you were born to play that part” I know you post pics in almost every entry.

    #2 simplicity – jonny’s vote.

  9. Posted September 19, 2008 at 8:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    ps. good for you for avoiding beer and running!

  10. Elizabeth
    Posted September 19, 2008 at 10:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    See I kinda agree with everyone voting for the simpler one just because of all the pictures I post. Jason uploaded some of my current blog entries on http://blog.thinkliz.com to see what it would look like with photos. What do y’all think?

  11. cooperella
    Posted September 21, 2008 at 11:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    i know this is all subjective and in the end it’s gotta be what you want it to be – but I really like the option #1 header. It’s very Beth. I understand the concern about it being too “busy”… but if you chose to go with the opt. 1 header maybe there are other ways to simplify the overall affect – maybe lighten the background (even simple white could work)?

  12. cooperella
    Posted September 21, 2008 at 11:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    ps – good job on the running! 🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] Posted by Elizabeth under Random | Tags: blog, design |   Apparently the little symbol I latched onto for the design of the new blog was implanted in my head from a couple of products I use. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

