Sewing, sewing, sewing.

So a couple nights ago, I made some toys for my cat. I know, he sounds spoiled (and he is sometimes) but I only have ONE toy that is truly a cat toy (not a foil ball) in my whole house. So I made these. I sprinkled in some cat nip as I was stuffing them for some added interest. It is hilarious to watch him play with these. He hoards them all, then throws them and chases them. Last night he just sat there holding one (of the four birds) and licking it’s head. Too hilarious. You can see in the pictures below that the birds are already well loved.

And then my other big accomplishment for the night was finishing up this purse (the Sew Everything Workshop Hobo Bag) for my coworker Amanda! I really like the way it turned out. The big graphic flower was perfect in the corner of the bag!

4 Comments

  1. Posted September 19, 2008 at 10:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, I like the cat toy idea… for my kid. My cats don’t play. They sleep. And eat. And poop. My kiddo, though, likes to play, and cloth toys are a much better idea than nasty plastic toys.

    Good idea! Well done!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted September 19, 2008 at 10:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    I really like making the stuffed toys! I want to make the Amy Butler ‘birdie the cat’ stuffed toy but I never have any felt to make the face! I think these stuffed toys are a great alternative to plastic toys. I’ve also recently fallen in love with wood toys. . . . Maybe I’ll learn how to carve next. Ha.

    I really wanted to post some pictures of how ridiculous our cat is with the toys, seriously, it’s hilarious, but the pictures didn’t really turn out. We may have to take a video. My cat is a weirdo, a bit retarded, and a lot of fun. 🙂

  3. Posted September 21, 2008 at 7:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh that purse is darling! i’m gonna check out those workshops…

  4. Posted September 21, 2008 at 7:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh is it a book?? hmmm…i may have to get it…although i just checked your AWESOME list of free patterns and i think i am gonna tackle a few of those 🙂 thanks for those!

One Trackback

  1. […] one is pure cuteness. It was also my first softie to make with felt (if you don’t count the birdies I made for Malachi). I learned how to blanket stitch and whip stitch on felt in the process of this […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

