Polvo’s Interior Mexican Food

Friday, I decided to take advantage of the good weather (fall, in Texas?!) and take my picnic blanket and my book to Zilker and spend a couple of hours reading and napping. It was lovely. Jason joined me after he got off work and we debated over where we wanted to go for dinner. Typically we never want Mexican food – there’s just too much of it around and a lot of it just isn’t good. But INTERIOR Mexican food, that’s a different story. I was feeling like trying something new so after reviewing my list of restaurants to try. . . we decided on Polvo’s Interior Mexican Food.

My coworker talks about this place as being one of the better Mexican restaurants in town so we were excited to finally try it. It was definitely a perfect kitschy atmosphere for a Mexican restaurant. We had the large Cerviche and Polvos Fish a la Plancha after being told that the restaurant’s specialty was their seafood. . . both were delicious. As was the black salsa – I have no idea what was in the black salsa but I wanted to drink it, it was so flavorful. Everything was good, surprisingly so for such an unassuming Mexican restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant – it was moderately priced (and you can find a coupon on the main page of their website for buy one get one half off main plate with the purchase of drinks) and the food was better than I could have expected.

2 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted September 22, 2008 at 8:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    Intersting. Obviously, I love interior Mexican food! Of course, Polvo, means dust so that makes it not seem so appetizing! There was a lot of cerviche when we lived in Costa Rica, but never one of my favorites, but the salsa sounds great! We might have to try it!

  2. Claire Patrick
    Posted September 22, 2008 at 11:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ohhhhh yesssss. I absolutely love Polvos. We’ve only been there once but we had some sort of special fajitas and they were to die for. We’ve wanted to go back for a long time. Man. Yum. Glad y’all got to experience it! (:

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

