Brioche – Sweet Bread

Yes, I went running last night and I figured out that the loop I’m running (well, the last 1/2 mile I’m still walking. . .) is 1.5 miles (which doesn’t seem like much but if I run it twice, that’s almost the 5k distance!). It seems like it’s getting harder and not easier, which is a bit depressing (although my heart rate is staying lower which is a good sign that something is changing). But I’ll run again tonight and tomorrow night. Maybe it will start getting easier eventually.

Sorry for all of the recipes lately (and I have a few more left to share this week too!) – I’ve just been on a cooking spree and I love to share what I’m learning!

I have a weird fascination with Brioche – it’s just good for so many things, sandwiches, bread pudding, sweet panzenella, french toast . . . a snack with bread, butter and jam. . . delicious! It’s slightly sweet and dense and this recipe was just about perfect. It’s a different method of kneading dough, if you want to try this recipe make sure to watch the video too. . .

Recipe for Brioche – Sweet Bread

5 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted September 23, 2008 at 10:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks good!

  2. Posted September 24, 2008 at 8:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    for sure, as you keep on running it gets easier. i was running miles and miles and then i got injured and couldn’t run for months so i lost all my endurance and had to start again from ground zero when i could run again…i could run for like 5 minutes and that was it! but then slowly, slowly i built my endurance back up. you’ll get there! 🙂

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 10:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the encouragement – I’ve never been athletic in the slightest so I need all that I can get! 🙂

  4. cooperella
    Posted September 25, 2008 at 9:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    yes, keep plugging away! but if your body is telling you no, don’t feel bad about listening to it and sitting a night out. sometimes i feel most refreshed after i’ve taken a day or two off – your body does so much rebuilding during that time away it makes a huge difference the next time you run.

    i’m so glad you’re sticking to it – maybe i’ll bring you some of my runner’s world magazines, there are stories (and recipes!) in there that will motivate the heck out of you.

  5. Posted September 26, 2008 at 9:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, I didn’t run last night like I had planned but I think it’s good – I feel pretty good today so I’m thinking I’ll run after work.

    I’d love to see some of your runner’s world magazines – I always need more motivation (and recipes)!

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] apples, breakfast, brioche, French toast |   So, you may have read about my first try of making brioche and it’s success. Sunday morning, the last two pieces found their final resting […]

  2. […] Baking, bread, buns, hamburger buns, recipe, Recipes by Elizabeth Now it’s no secret that I love brioche. So when smitten kitchen posted this recipe, I knew I was going to have to make it. I mean, […]

  3. By Mango Cardamom Bread Pudding « think liz. on March 30, 2010 at 8:02 am

    […] to such a great spice. Instead of using the white bread that this recipe calls for, we used some homemade brioche, because everything is better with brioche. And this was better with brioche, trust me. And honey […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

