Chocolate Gelato

So I didn’t run last night – we tried out a new small group from our church instead. . . I’ll run tonight though, I promise! Also, I just read this and it gave me another reason to be excited about living in Austin: Austin is ranked 13 in the ranking of sustainable cities with ambitious plans for climbing the sustainable ladder! Portland is ranked number 1 which makes me glad that we visited there to see what they’re doing correctly that we can take back with us and implement in Austin. Yay Austin! I was surprised (and very happy) to read that Dallas, Houston and San Antonio are stepping up their environmental responsibility – I never thought I would see the day when most of Texas would  become part of the sustainable quest. 🙂 El Paso, on the other hand, not doing so hot. . . but that’s another story.

Anyways, back to the food. I have been on a quest to figure out how to make even somewhat decent gelato after having experienced the best gelato while I was in Italy. I’ve tried a couple differently methods, some involving eggs and milk, and I think my favorite recipes are the ones that involve thickening whole milk with cornstarch. This recipe that I found is a great base to experiment with other gelato flavors.

Recipe for Chocolate Gelato

10 Comments

  1. Posted September 24, 2008 at 9:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    Okay, now you’re just being slightly evil. (: One of these days I’m just going to storm your house and eat all of your leftovers.

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 9:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    What leftovers?

    🙂

  3. elliek
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 9:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yay for Austin!

  4. Marie Larkin
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 10:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    The Chocolate Gelato looks sinful but — I need an ice cream maker to do this?

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 10:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    Mom! You commented! It isn’t as sinful as Chocolate Ice Cream! There’s no cream, only whole milk! That’s why I love gelato. . . 🙂

    You do need an ice cream maker to make this – see what good use we’re putting that ice cream maker that you gave us at Christmas 2 years ago?

  6. Posted September 24, 2008 at 11:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hello! Thought I’d check out your blog since Claire highly recommends it 🙂 I have happily wasted about 30 minutes already going back through your posts. Your food photos are fabulous and I already want to try the recipes. Your sewing projects are cute and make me want to pull my machine out of the closet!
    And my brother just moved to Portland so your pictures and experiences make me really want to visit him now!

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 12:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Aww thanks Elizabeth! The photos are all Jason, my husband, for the most part – I’m glad he’s around to take the photos because I have no patience for photography!

    You should grab your sewing machine from the closet, cook some food and visit your brothers in Portland! They are all great things to do. 🙂

  8. Posted September 24, 2008 at 5:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Okay. The gelato looks amazing. Why does it seem that I only comment on your dessert posts? Bad, Sheri, Bad.

    Anyway, onward… what is Portland doing that Austin could improve upon as far as sustainability? I’d love to hear your thoughts on that.

  9. Posted September 24, 2008 at 6:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The main thing is that Portland has the best public transit system in the country, Austin has almost none! So that alone makes Portland’s traffic systems significantly better. From what I can tell, their government embraced green technology and innovation earlier than Austin and it integrated in with their city, transportation, layout, utility and resource planning more comprehensively.

    Not only does Austin need a better transit system (which they are working on), Austin needs to have a comprehensive recycling program, like Portland does. They have no limits on what can be recycled in Portland – if it’s possible, they recycle it. They also offer everyone a compost bin that the city picks up. Can you imagine how many more people would compost if they just had to throw their food wastes, etc into a bin that gets picked up once a week?

    Local food availability is another thing that Portland does better than Austin. . . again, something Austin is working on. I think the people in Portland are better informed about eating locally and the awareness helps create the demand that Austin doesn’t have.

    So there you have it, if Austin had better public transit, better recycling (which should be coming at the end of the year)/composting and higher awareness of eating locally grown food, it would be ranked much, much higher!

  10. Posted September 24, 2008 at 6:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s great that they provide a compost bin; I would love that. A better recycling system is something most towns and cities could work on. Our recycling is SO limited in our tiny town!

    Interesting comparison. Thanks for sharing!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

