What Made Milwaukee Famous:: What Doesn’t Kill Us

WMMF‘s Sophomore CD, What Doesn’t Kill Us, is the first I have heard of this Austin band (yay for local bands!) and I am thoroughly enjoying this CD. I can hear a mix of influences in their music, some of their piano driven songs remind me of Ben Folds (And the Grief Goes On), while others of the Fray. Middle of the Night reminds me a bit of the late Beatles, it’s a bit more unproduced and raw. Overall I’m really enjoying this CD, it’s a good mix of songs.

I’m really excited because I get to see WMMF in concert this Thursday night for FREE! Paste Magazine subscribers got invited to an RSVP only free Pre ACL concert that has some great bands playing. We choose not to go to ACL this year (too expensive!) so it’s great to know that we will still see some fantastic live music! It should be pretty funny to see us there since the doors open at 9pm which means the show is going to go LATE and we are not night owls by any stretch of the imagination! But hey, everyone needs a fun late nights a couple times a year and this seems to fit the bill. 🙂

5 Comments

  1. Posted September 24, 2008 at 1:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Dangit. If Chance didn’t have to work so early Friday I’d hit up that RSVP and go. We haven’t gone to any shows in a while – we’re out of the loop!

    I’ve got their old CD if you want it…maybe I can get a copy to you somehow. I haven’t really listened to their new stuff. I’ve hung out with John a few times – and he’s great. They’re fun kids.

    I hope you have fun at the show! (:

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 1:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We have been to very, very few shows since we’ve been in Austin. We just go to bed way too early most nights! Either that or the shows I want to go to are too expensive. That’s why free works really well for us. 🙂

    As far as work on Friday morning, we might roll in a bit late. . . but my office is usually pretty empty the Friday of ACL. . . 🙂

  3. kaylebug
    Posted September 24, 2008 at 1:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    WMMF is a great band! I started listening to them right before they got big. I like pretty much everything I have heard from them. I’m looking forward to getting the album you have.
    🙂

  4. cooperella
    Posted September 25, 2008 at 9:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    fun!! I’ve seen a few wmmf shows. i think i even have a t-shirt from them that Justin accidentally (drunkenly) bought at the show (the merchandise girl sold him a women’s shirt – they’re by american apparel too, so there was absolutely no way he could squeeze into it, although he tried pretty hard to).

    i hope you have fun!

  5. Justin
    Posted September 29, 2008 at 11:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I almost fit into that shirt :)))) They play in Austin a lot, the four of us need to go check them out sometime. I also enjoy there sophomore cd, but nothing tops there 1st album. Check it out on my I-tunes tomorrow. My favorite song is “The Jeopardy of Contentment.”

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

