Crustless Feta, Carmelized Onion, Garlic and Chive Quiche

So I didn’t feel like going to the grocery store today just to put together dinner, so I had to be creative with what I had on hand. Enter quiche. Forgiving, easy, flexible. . perfect ‘use what ya got’ type of meal. The addition of flour and baking powder creative a ‘faux’ crust since some of the flour sinks to the bottom and browns up. Perfect if you’re lazy like me and don’t feel like dealing with creating a home made pie crust (and really, who wants to make home made pie crust for a throw together meal?). Another great thing? I don’t have to make breakfast in the morning now. 🙂

Crustless Feta, Carmelized Onion, Garlic and Chive Quiche
(Created/Adapted/Mushed Together from Several Other Recipes by Me!)

1 medium onion, diced
2 large eggs
2 large egg whites
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
pinch cayenne pepper
1 1/3 cups milk (low fat is fine)
3 garlic cloves, chopped
good size bunch of chives
pinch of fresh thyme
1/2 cup feta cheese
chives and thyme to garnish

Preheat oven to 400F.

Lightly grease a 10-inch tart pan or a pie plate

In a medium frying pan, cook diced onion with a bit of vegetable oil (or cooking spray) and a pinch of salt over medium-high heat until just caramelized, add garlic and sauté a few minutes longer, until garlic is fragrant. Set aside to cool for a few minutes

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, flour, baking powder, salt and pepper. Whisk in milk, then stir in onion-garlic mixture, chives and thyme.

Pour quiche base into prepared pan. Top with feta cheese.

Bake for 25 minutes, or until center is set and the outside edge is golden brown.

Let set for 5 minutes, then slice and serve.

Serves 4.

P.S. I didn’t run today. I took a nap instead (and did laundry, baked rolls, cleaned the houses). Sad, sad day. I still have tomorrow morning to run. I’ll do it. Somehow, I’ll be motivated enough to wake up and run. . .

6 Comments

  1. Posted September 26, 2008 at 10:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Holy MOLY. That sounds amazing. I am in love with quiche. Seriously. I love love love it. This is ALMOST on our diet (minus the flour and baking powder and milk). But this is something I may try to make once I’m off, for sure. It sounds like something I might actually be able to do! (:

  2. elliek
    Posted September 27, 2008 at 10:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks good! I think I need to make some quiche sometime soon!

  3. Wes
    Posted September 30, 2008 at 12:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am super excited that you are running a 5K, you must take pictures!! It is hard work but so worth it when you are done! I got off the waiting list to run the Houston Half Marathon in Jan. so im am super pumped up about it! Training Training! 🙂

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted September 30, 2008 at 1:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yay Wes! That’s awesome – you’ll have to take pictures as well. As for me, I’ll leave the picture taking to Jason. 🙂

  5. Jennifer
    Posted October 14, 2008 at 5:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We made this quiche last week and again tonight… we have too many eggs in the fridge! We did less onion and added bell pepper and turkey sausage, and changed the cheese to cheddar, and it turned out great! Thanks Beth!

  6. Posted October 14, 2008 at 5:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome! I’m so glad that you took the recipe and made it your own. . . I’ll have to try it the way you did!

One Trackback

  1. […] over Tuesday night, I made these delicious Cloverleaf Honey-Wheat Rolls and we ate a few with dinner and I stashed the rest in the freezer! Apparently you can just heat them up in some aluminum foil […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

