Homemade Ricotta

So ricotta is something you can buy at the grocery store very easily. It’s not too expensive, you can get low fat. . . it’s in plastic containers and kinda tastes like the plastic containers. You may not agree with me, but that’s only because you haven’t had this homemade ricotta. It. Is. Delicious. It’s simple too. Even if you’ve never made cheese before, this one only has two ingredients (milk and buttermilk) and you boil it. That’s it. It doesn’t get much easier than that. I made some today in about 15 minutes. It’s not even time consuming (like bread).

Why I love being able to make homemade ricotta? You can make it savory (lasagna, cannelloni, stuffed shells etc) or make it sweet (top it with berries and honey, make cannolis, ricotta cheesecake, etc). It’s so versatile. You should make it just so you have bragging rights to tell your friends that you are a ‘cheese maker’! 🙂 There’s a similar recipe but it’s for a cheese called paneer that I found on Angry Chicken’s blog . . .

Recipe for Homemade Ricotta

2 Comments

  1. Marie Larkin
    Posted September 29, 2008 at 10:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks Beth — I’ve been meaning to get that Ricotta Recipe. Need to make a really great Lasana (sp) for daddy’s birthday.

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted September 29, 2008 at 11:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    This will certainly contribute to a great lasagna! I used this ricotta last year to make Jason’s birthday lasagna (how funny that our men both adore lasagna, oh the way to a man’s heart . . .).

One Trackback

  1. […] back to the subject of the post. This was the fate that the homemade ricotta came to on Tuesday night. A delicious fate if I do say so myself. I have to say, I LOVE puff pastry […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

