The final fate of the brioche. . .

So, you may have read about my first try of making brioche and it’s success. Sunday morning, the last two pieces found their final resting place.

This may have been the best French toast that I have ever had (if I may toot my own horn). I utilized some of my favorite apples (Honeycrisps, which, if you haven’t had one, they’re only available in the fall and they are the ultimate perfect apple – albeit a bit expensive) in a yummy carmelized topping. Here is my best remembrance of what I did:

Carmelized Apple French Toast
(created by me!)

For toast:
2 (1″ thick) stale slices of brioche or Challah bread
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp dark rum (or rum extract)
pinch of salt
2 tbsp butter

For apples:
1 apple, thinly sliced
2 tbsp butter
2 tsp cinnamon
3 tbsp brown sugar

Whisk together eggs, milk, salt, vanilla and rum in a flat dish (I used a pie dish). Let bread soak in this mixture for 10 minutes on each side until well saturated. (There will be liquid remaining.)

In the meantime, melt 2 tbsp butter in a skillet over medium heat. When melted, add apples cinnamon and brown sugar. Saute apples, turning occasionally, until almost cooked through and a thick syrupy sauce has formed, about 6-7 minutes. Remove apples and syrup from pan, do a quick rinse and return to stove.

Melt 2 more tbsp butter in skillet and once melted, add bread. Saute each side on medium heat for 3-4 minutes each side, until nicely browned.

Serve with apples, maple syrup and a dusting of powdered sugar.

One Comment

  1. Posted September 29, 2008 at 7:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks amazing!I had French toast this weekend too! Twice actually! I haven’t had French toast in years, but I really enjoyed it. I might have to make your version!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

