Sweet and Sour Chicken

I know! Enough with the recipes already!! Well, I like food, and I’m going to keep making it and posting about it. But I’m also going to craft some stuff so that I can post it too. . . I promise. 🙂 For this recipe, Ellie inspired me to make this Sweet and Sour Chicken recipe that Jaden of Steamy Kitchen posted for all to see! I’ve got to say, even though this wasn’t deep fried the way that most take out places do Sweet and Sour Chicken, it puts them to shame! This was so easy and so flavorful that it completely negates any reason for ordering take out. And it’s healthier too!

A sustainable sidenote from the recipe. My lovely friend Tara was in town to visit us this weekend and she was kind enough to brave the grocery store with my on Saturday (she actually said that she WANTED to go to HEB with me!) and she brought up a good point with buying meat. . . You can buy the same meat that is in the pre-packed section for a bit more money from the butcher and you bypass getting one of those annoying styrofoam trays that you just throw away. Not only is your meat most likely fresher, you get the exact amount you need (no waste!) and paper has a much smaller footprint than styrofoam. I hadn’t really thought about it that way before. Thanks Tara for bringing that to my attention! 🙂

Recipe for Sweet and Sour Chicken

6 Comments

  1. jownby
    Posted October 1, 2008 at 7:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks great! I need to try more asian dishes.

  2. Posted October 1, 2008 at 7:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    I saw this recipe too and thought about trying it. My guy isn’t too big on fried stuff so it’s good to know it’s better than the ‘original’ recipe.
    I’ll have to add it to the menu one week.
    Keep posting about food- I enjoy your recipes and pictures! 🙂

  3. elliek
    Posted October 1, 2008 at 7:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Jeremy and I loved this recipe. I will definately be making it again. It was so good!

  4. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 1, 2008 at 9:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks delicious. Made something similar but this looks easier.

  5. Wes
    Posted October 6, 2008 at 12:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oooh i made this meal this past weekend and it was sooo good and EASY…it did however set my smoke alarm off haha

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted October 6, 2008 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wes! I’m so glad you tried the recipe and that it turned out for you!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

