Stilton and Pear Salad

So my favorite salad in town is at Zax’s and it consists of blue cheese (Gorgonzola, I believe), candied pecans, pears, mixed salad greens and a simple vinaigrette. It’s pretty simple so I decided to try and recreate it at home for me and some friends. I went off of a recipe that I found on epicurious and added some candied pecans (also from a recipe on epicurious). The pecans were not particularly pretty, but they were tasty. They came out of the oven looking coated and dull, not shiny or even liked a typical spiced pecan. But who cares when it’s tossed in a salad and consumed with other tasty ingredients! I especially liked the simplicity of the dressing and how perfectly the 6 cups of salad was coated by the small amount of dressing. I still have all the ingredients on hand so I have a feeling I will be eating this salad again this week! 🙂

Recipe for Stilton and Pear Salad

Recipe for Candied Pecans

P.S. Running update: I haven’t run since Saturday morning, but I’m planning on running tonight, tomorrow and maybe Friday after work or Saturday morning. The weather is so great for this right now. I’m glad I decided to try to run a 5K now and not during the heat of Austin’s summer!

2 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted October 1, 2008 at 10:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    Salad looks good! I love salad that has a little fruit (I know, it surprising, but I limit it to firm apples or pears, dried cranberries or cherries, or fresh strawberries…and I love nuts in my salad. I had a sald at Spicy Pickle last week and it was spinach, walnuts, apples, and blue cheese with a simple vinagrette – yum!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted October 1, 2008 at 10:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    That salad sounds delicious as well! I think my recipe for the perfect salad involves cheese (blue or goat preferably), fruit (apples, pears or strawberry), a nut, salad greens and a simple vinaigrette!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

