The second of many. (And the AJ clutch is born)

This is the second clutch that I’ve made of my own design. The first was alright but needed some help. I decided to draft up my own pattern and see how it would turn out. I was trying another simple clutch. I’m calling this on the AJ Clutch (mainly because she had this fabric all over her walls when we came to visit but also because I think she’d like the simple shape). I know it’s hard to tell the size in these pictures, but the finished dimensions are approximately 15″ width x 7″ height and you only need 1/2″ yard max of each type of fabric.

You can’t really tell from the photo, but one side of the closure flap is curved and the other side is pointed. That flower was my first ‘yo-yo’ to ever make and I really like the way it turned out! It’s a fun embellishment that I learned about on Heather Bailey’s blog. There are some adjustments that need to happen to make this purse better – the biggest one is the proportions of the closure flap to the bag. And I want to learn how to install a magnetic snap (I’ve heard it isn’t hard at all) instead of using a regular snap or velcro.  I’m going to redraft the pattern and try another one soon.

So here are my questions to you. What do you think of the design? A – if you sew, would you buy this pattern (with some improvements) as a pdf on etsy for $6 (it would be printable on average 8.5″x11″ paper); B – if you don’t sew, would you buy this clutch (in it’s finished form) for yourself for $15? I think what I’m going to end up doing is redrafting this pattern, making it again (hoping that it turns out a bit more like I was expecting) and then posting the pdf of the instruction and pattern for free (maybe I’ll sell the several test runs on etsy, or just give them away as Christmas presents). I’m going to try and do a series of free purse patterns (all named after my friends :)) so that I can get feedback on how I draw up patterns and write instructions. Then once I can create more complex sewing patterns, I’ll start to sell them on etsy. . . we’ll see. I’d loved feedback. . .

Update: Oh yeah, this is my 200th post! Yay!

10 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted October 2, 2008 at 7:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    I like it. I just bought a small purse pattern on etsy in PDF…so I think it’s something I would do. And if the fabric was nice enough, I might even pay $15 for one!

    The purse that I am planning on working on soon (maybe this weekend!) has a magnetic snap, so I’ll let you know how it goes. I bought it at Hobby Lobby and it was like $4.50 (that’s more than the fabric for the entire purse costs!) They look like they are really easy – they are like a brad. You just cut little slits in your fabric, stick the snap in and fold the clasps over!

  2. jownby
    Posted October 2, 2008 at 8:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    I would definitely pay $6 for the pattern. I think it’s a great idea to design the pattern & sell on etsy. The magnetic snaps are kind of expensive. I bought one at Joann yesterday for about $4.50 too. The next time Joann has a good sale on them, I’m going to stock up.

  3. AJ
    Posted October 2, 2008 at 8:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    I would buy it! Partially because it is named after me, but mostly because it’s ADORABLE!! Too cute, I love it!

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted October 2, 2008 at 8:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    I found a set of two silver snaps at Hancock fabrics for only $2.99! I didn’t realize that was a good deal! I’ve have to buy a bunch and try them out. . .

    Thanks ladies, for the feedback!

  5. Posted October 2, 2008 at 9:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    I would totally use this pattern! It’s fabulous. I think I am making purses for Christmas gifts too.

    Have you checked out: betsyrosspatterns.blogspot.com?
    She has some cute patterns too….

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted October 2, 2008 at 9:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my goodness. Cute patterns is an understatement! Thank you for sharing!

  7. Posted October 2, 2008 at 11:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love this purse! If you went into business I would totally buy stuff from you!

  8. Posted October 3, 2008 at 10:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    ohh. I like .

  9. jownby
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 7:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is kind of late, but I just wanted to let you know that I found silver magnetic snaps on EBAY. I got 25 for $19.99, free shipping. I thought that over my lifetime, surely I can use 25 snaps :).

  10. Elizabeth
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 8:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    Holy moley, that’s a good deal. I may have to check out ebay to see if that same deal still exists. I installed my first magnetic snap this weekend and it was so easy, it was kinda ridiculous. 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

