Butternut Squash Soup with Cider Cream

I love fall food. It’s warm, it’s rich, it’s filling and it is filled with the holidays. Butternut squash is one of those vegetables that I just discovered last fall (which is sad, I know) when I added it to Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Pasta (which I need to make again because it was yummy!), I loved the texture and the taste of the squash and that was just further reinforced when I found out the nutrition value! Gotta love it when something good for you ACTUALLY tastes good!

This soup recipe had hundreds of good reviews on epicurious, so that is why I picked it. Not only did it have the fall veggie of squash, it also had apples, leeks and celery – all veggies that remind me of the fall. I know, apples? Really? Yes. And it upped the soup’s mildly sweet taste from the squash. Cider cream? Yes, apple cider and sour cream. Delicious. You don’t believe me? Try it out yourself and you will see. 🙂

Recipe for Butternut Squash Soup with Cider Cream

5 Comments

  1. Posted October 2, 2008 at 4:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I really like butternut squash recipe, but this sounds REALLY good.

  2. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 2, 2008 at 5:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks delicious! Another recipe I have to try.

  3. Posted October 6, 2008 at 12:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Did this make a lot of soup — the recipe says 10 servings…just curious…sometimes portions aren’t always correct.

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted October 6, 2008 at 12:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think 10 servings is pretty accurate. I fed 6 and then Jason took it to work and fed 4 more. They were BIG bowls though – I think I ladled 3 full ladles into each bowl. I think this soup could stretch pretty easily depending on how big your squash is and how many veggies you add to it.

  5. Posted October 6, 2008 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ok — it is just going to be Jeremy and I so I didn’t know if it needed to be halved or what…Thanks!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

