Wild Mushroom and Gruyere Tart

Quick side note for all you living in Austin right now: the new recycling program has begun! Woo hoo! There is no longer a need to sort your recyclables, you can recycle plastics #1-7 (it used to be only #1-2), AND you can recycle cereal boxes! Finally, Austin is stepping up to the plate on their push for Zero Waste. Oh, and while we’re off subject, I ran last night and Wednesday night. It really seems like it’s getting harder and not easier. . . granted I’m pushing myself to run just a bit further each time. I have been keeping up with running 3 times a week since I started running. . . that’s a pretty impressive record for me. Usually I quit the second week in!

Anyways, back to the subject of the post. This was the fate that the homemade ricotta came to on Tuesday night. A delicious fate if I do say so myself. I have to say, I LOVE puff pastry – it makes everything so fancy with so little work. I really liked the way this recipe created the puffed edges – it was simpler and more effective than other methods I’ve tried. Once you’ve rolled out the dough and placed it on the cookie sheet, you just use a knife to draw in the border you want (cut halfway through the dough) and then just fill the tart to the border! I know I’ll be making a tart like this again, but the filling possibilities are endless. 🙂

Recipe for Wild Mushroom and Gruyere Tart

6 Comments

  1. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 3, 2008 at 10:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    Another delicious item. Be careful running – don’t push yourself too hard.

  2. Matthew Becker
    Posted October 3, 2008 at 8:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks DELICIOUS and something I might like to make. How do you make the pastry? Or do you buy it pre-made?

  3. Rachael Becker
    Posted October 3, 2008 at 8:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oops. that was me.

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted October 3, 2008 at 10:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You can buy it premade – one of the reasons I love it so much! I think I usually buy the Pepperidge Farm brand and it comes with two sheets so you can make dinner and dessert with one package. Make sure you defrost it completely before you use it, otherwise it can be very frustrating to work with! Let me know if you do end up making it!

  5. elliek
    Posted October 6, 2008 at 8:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve made a recipe very similar to this several times…and I agree puff pastry always makes things seem fancier and it’s so good!

    I’ve always thought that when begining to work out a again that the first week seems ok and then it gets harder from there until you eventually get over some hill and then it gets easier and more enjoyable (I’m not sure, I haven’t gotten over that hill in a long time…)

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted October 6, 2008 at 8:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ellie, I actually was going to make the tart that you’ve made several times because I like it so much! I was drawn to this recipe by the ricotta in it so I thought I’d give it a whirl. . .

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

