Crafty Corner

I have been struggling trying to get my crafty corner of the house organized. I have very little space so I have a hard time finding fabrics I’m looking for and thread and various other supplies just continually get tangled. Enter Ikea for $125:

*The clouds part and a choir of heavenly angels sing*.

You can see the door stop just to the right of the new cabinet. That’s the space I had to work with. The ironing board has taken up permanent residence by my filing cabinet that now neatly files all of the patterns that I’ve used, have yet to use and that I’ve created (it used to overflow with fabric). In an ideal world, the ironing board would be built into a nice storage cabinet, but for now, it’s beautiful where it is. The green boxes on/in the cabinet hold small scraps of fabric I can’t part with and incomplete projects. My beads and jewelry supplies now have a home (they used to sit on the bottom shelf of our coffee table where our cat would drag everything out to play with- annoying). The glass door keeps the cat out. Bliss. I love being organized.

As I sorted through the piles of fabric I didn’t even know I had, project ideas pinged left and right in my little brain. One of the things that has been the most disorganized are my bobbins and thread. It seems like they just rattle around getting tangled with each other and I can never find the color I’m looking for. So, I enlisted Jason’s help to create this little simple thread and bobbin holder to go in my new cabinet.

I think it cost a total of about $3 to create and I feel so much more sane now that it’s done (and I even have room to grow for more thread!). I have several projects going on right now, several of them are sewing projects (that you can see on the ironing board – I cut out SO MUCH FABRIC this weekend for those two silly projects) and my newest one involves yarn. . . I don’t knit so you’ll have to wait and see what these four balls of yarn are going to turn into but I will tell you I am very excited about what is to come.

6 Comments

  1. Posted October 7, 2008 at 9:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    I like your corner! I have an old bookcase that I use for all my fabric, etc — and I had just found a thread holder the other day for about $6 at Joann’s so my thread is all organized now too! It definitely helps productivity when all items are in their respective places and easily found.

  2. Jasonius
    Posted October 7, 2008 at 9:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those balls of yarn sure look nice all balled up…too bad Malachi got to one of them and made a mess of the whole thing!

  3. hasenfefferinc
    Posted October 7, 2008 at 10:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    I miss Ikea so much now that I don’t live near one! The color and texture of your yarn is great and I’m intrigued by what it will become. I like your blog a lot and this Jason fellow takes lovely pictures!

  4. elliek
    Posted October 7, 2008 at 11:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a wonderful corner! I’m a bit jealous. This weekend I had taken out my sewing machine to work on a project and thought I’d keep working on it Monday and Tuesday of this week, but I got home from work yesterday to see boxes all over our living room and that Jeremy had begun to pack. It became necessary for me to remove my sewing stuff from the table (so we could break it down and make room for boxes)…so all the sewing I though I would get done while on a break from school looks like won’t be happening 😦 oh well…I think your corner is great and I hope it leads to even more productivity (even though you are one of the most productive craft people ever! you get so much done)

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted October 7, 2008 at 11:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    A – I completely agree – I can be so much more productive when I’m not digging through an unorganized mess! I didn’t even think to look for a thread holder at JoAnn’s or Hancocks. . . we just happened to be at Lowe’s and I had a ‘eureka’ moment!

    Jason – I think that Malachi was mad because I took away all his ‘toys’ (i.e. my jewelry supplies) and so he choose to dig through the baskets to mess with my yarn. He’s not happy unless he’s destroying something.

    H – Ikea is fantastic. I love that they have an eco-conscience and that they have such fabulously designed products. The price doesn’t hurt either! I couldn’t find a single skinny bookcase with this sort of storage anywhere else for the price (not even craigslist!).

    Ellie – You can have a sewing corner in your new place! I’m sorry you’re not getting as much done while you’re on break from school. . . Sadly, this week hasn’t been too productive yet for crafty things. I spent all last night ironing on fusible fleece and interfacing in front of the TV for the first of two bags I’m making and I’ll probably spend all tonight ironing on the same for the second bag. These silly bags are taking much more of an effort that I expected!

  6. kaylebug
    Posted October 7, 2008 at 4:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    hey cool shelf!!
    🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] (or the yarn in that store), but I think I’m happy with the varieties that I got. Remember when I talked about that yarn? Yeah, that’s what they’re for. I have three more scarfs to make and I […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

